We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn and not real clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
756 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Worn and not real clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed one night in route back home. Stopped late at night and were received warmly. The room was very well worn, too well worn for my tastes. I stay at a lot of Hamptons and recognize that some are aging but you can overcome that with cleanliness. We didn't feel the room was terribly clean. My wife found hairs on the bed spread and the bathroom had an odor. I had reserved a one room suite with a sofa bed for our 2 kids (12 and 11). The sofabed was really only a love seat with enough room for 1 so we had to improvise our sleeping arrangements. This is probably semantics but it would be nice if that was clarified on the website. The toilet didn't flush well and at one point almost overflowed with no good reason if you know what I mean. All in all, we didn't enjoy the stay but I do want to compliment the staff that served breakfast. One lady in particular (I wish we had her name) complimented my wife our on kids and wished us well. Her kind words were a great sendoff. Unfortunately, until things are a little cleaner and maybe some renovations are done, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    120
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
160
104
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rockville md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed for four nights to attend a family funeral. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the hotel, the decor, breakfast and the very pleasant staff. The beds were very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethct7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietgolf616
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

We arrived at the Inn after a long day drive and the hotel was very accommodating and comfortable! We still had a long drive to California and this was our first stop. Thank you for our home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietgolf616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Nothing special with this hotel, a little old. Had a swimming pool, but not in use and all messed up. Staff are ok. Right next to restaurants and grocery stores. Got a room with a very noisy fridge!! Everything is a bit old, ready for an upgrade. Continental breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mostad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great place! Friendly staff, easy check in, clean rooms. The best place to stay when you are in the Blueridge area.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaEdHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

The Hampton Inn- Salem on Electric Rd. is a few miles from the highway and located right next to a hospital, which is incredibly convenient if you happen to have family there or need to recovery near by. The hotel looks great from the outside and the lobby area is very welcoming. There is a nice stone courtyard and large indoor breakfast area. However, the hotel definitely shows its age.

Check-in
Went fine. They didn't acknowledge my status, was just kind of here is your key, there's the elevator. They were nice, don't get me wrong, just didn't make me feel all that special.

Room
Once you see the doors you know the hotel is a bit old. Is that very dark old wood with very dark brass handle. The room has a huge bathroom, however mine smelled incredibly mildewy. It actually made the entire room smell. The dark carpet seemed clean enough, but not that nice softer clean feeling, just vacuumed kind of clean.

The bed had ample pillows (poly and feather) and the room featured a standard TV (with decent channels and closed caption). There was also a mini-fridge which is nice for longer stays. Room also had a desk (with ample outlets), chair and sofa. The room size was more than adequate for one person, furniture was a bit dated, but fine. The iron was new (which I really do appreciate) and ironing board was fine. Closet had more than enough hangers and spare blanket (however it wasn't fully zipped- the packaging around it was ripped open). The walls are a bit thin. I clearly could hear my next door neighbors talking, however I really didn't hear much TV noise.

The bathroom is where my complaints come in. Like I said, it smelled very heavy of mildew. There were more than a few hairs in the tub and some of the tiles were cracked. The bathroom itself was a big size, but had a weird layout. Just seemed like it could have been configured a bit better. Towels were fine, they give you a good amount of soap, shampoo and conditioner, but I just generally didn't get that clean feeling you want in a hotel bathroom. I ended up closing the door so the smell didn't get into the room. I called the front desk and they offered for me to come down there and get some Febreeze (again, in other hotels, they would have brought this up for you, but what can I say). I had some Bath and Body Works spray with me, so used that.

The non-smoking corridor I was in smelled heavily of smoke in the hallway. Someone was definitely smoking. Luckily not too much of it got into my room.

Other
There was a very nice outdoor pool that may have a view of the mountains (it was high up enough, but can't say for sure). The breakfast bar was fine, different cereals, a few hot items, etc. They also have a business center with a printer. There is free high-speed that worked quite well.

Overall
I know the hotel is doing some renovations, I'm really hoping they do, as this hotel could be so much better with some renovations to the rooms. Location is okay if you need to be more in the heart of Salem as opposed to right off the interstate. For the cost was a fine value, just definitely needs some updating.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed at this HI on our way to Atlanta. We were not going to stop but due to an accident and holdup on the highway, we had to make last minute reservations at this HI. (I thought this property was right off I-81. It is in-town Salem, about 5 miles from the highway. I called the HI reservation line and they refused to switch my reservation to another hotel because it was after 6 p.m. I will deal with that issue separately with HI)
This hotel is okay. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite on the 6th floor. the room was older and not as impressive as the newer HI properties. But, the bedroom is very very large and the bathroom was nice. The kitchen was not full size like other properties and the living room was very small. The furniture was older but well kept. That pretty much describes the entire property. Older but well kept. The room was always very clean.

Breakfast was very good and the woman working the breakfast was extremely pleasant.

All in all, this was a trustworthy choice!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ambudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Property: Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Address: 1886 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing