We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good room get breakfast elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good room get breakfast elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

room was clean, quiet and staff was great. If you like danish and bagle breakfast this is place for you. Fruit was good but had to eat elsewhere. room door mag card did not work first 3 times but staff was very helpful correcting situation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    115
    39
    13
    4
See reviews for
144
89
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Second stay at this Hampton Inn. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical Hampton breakfast which is more than just the continental breakfast found at some other hotels. Staff was knowledgable and courteous. Parking could be an issue, but I have not experienced it---there is an alternate parking area close by. May be a little pricey for some. I would stay here again. CVS close so you can buy comfort items you left at home. If new to the area, my GPS helped me find the hotel from the airport since this hotel is not near a main Roanoke interstate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank alangD7352FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From my initial contact with the Manger on Duty, Lynn, everything was fantastic. I called a day ahead of my arrival to request an early check in to allow me to freshen up prior to my 3:00 meeting. Lynn was able to accommodate me and my room was ready when I arrived at 2 PM the next day. All contact with staff members was quite positive during my 3 day stay. The fitness room was more than adequate, and the location of the hotel was within close proximity to a variety of restaurants and shopping areas. This was my 3rd time staying at this location and it won't be the last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty well maintained. I found my room to be clean, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in. Parking was always available, although you had to drive around the block and through the hospital parking garage to find additional parking if you were returning to the hotel late, as all the spots up front filled up by then. Thankfully, they provide you a map when you check in so you can find this parking lot, but it is still a little hard to navigate. They also give you a list of restaurants with addresses, which I liked.
The staff was very kind and helpful. Always pleasant.
Across the street are a few restaurants and a grocery store, so that made it a pretty convenient location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hampon Inn in Salam, Va near Lewis Gale Hospital is a excellent alternative for Va. Tech Hokie fans to stay at during Hokie home games. The staff is very good, the hotel is clean and ofers services such as breakfast, internet connectivity, fitness area and pool. There is a delightful outdoor seating area to enjoy breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second time we stayed at this hotel. Accommodations are typical for Hampton Inn - always great!! Very nice foyer and breakfast area. Rooms are clean and very nice. Love the bed! Will stay again when back in area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The one postive that I liked is my room was a suite which I did not ask for. So I was pleasently surprised by that. The negatives: The bathroom had hair all in the tub, there was very little toilet paper and there was not any extra, the sink had not been cleaned and there were stains on the wall. The bed smelled musty as did the room. Not impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank malexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Property: Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Address: 1886 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing