We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great attitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would like to recommend the Hampton Inn in Salem Va. near the Lewis Gale hospital for anyone spending a few days in the Roanoke Va. vicinity. I recently attended a High School reunion in the area and booked a room there for three nights. The rooms were very clean, and they changed all the linens, every day. The breakfast buffet was very nice, especially the omelets and pastries. I had a problem with the phone in the room and was unable to retrieve messages left for me by my old school mates. The staff was unable to solve the problem, but they offered to upgrade to another room. They also managed to retrieve a couple of the messages, enabling me to reconnect with my friends. Since we had already unpacked, we declined the upgrade, but they reduced the nightly rate for the annoyance of not having an operable phone. All in all, I give the management top marks for their attitude and dedication to customer service.

Room Tip: If there is anything wrong with the room, let the front desk know immediately and they will take car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffcurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    115
    39
    13
    4
See reviews for
144
90
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Elegant, moderately priced place to stay - private rooms and common areas are all well kept and cheerful. The hotel staff is professional and friendly. The breakfast offers an array of hot and cold options for people on the go. The breakfast area is cheerful and well-maintained. When rooms are available, I would not think of staying anywhere other than here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Starting at the reception the people were very friendly. The room was quiet and clean. The hotel has a big parking lot and a small shopping center (including a CVS) is right across the street. The only thing to complain about is the breakfast. This tastes really like nothing, on the second day we ended up going to the "Pancake House" which is close by and serves nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff were friendly and room was fairly large with fridge, microwave, and little bar area. I was really looking forward to the whirlpool bath. However, it didn't look like it was really all that clean. I'm usually not one to nit pick in a review but for $130 a night they could have at least cleaned the tub of hair and soap scum.

As usual the bed was amazing. We slept right past breakfast so no reviews on that sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniegirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overnight stay was good. Location of hotel is good to proximity to Blue Ridge Parkway. This is an older Hampton and you will get a good night sleep. Rooms are quite and noise from the outside is minimum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When my husband was in the hospital, I stayed over night at this Hampton Inn. Everything was very clean and quiet. It helped my stress level go down to be able to stay so close to the hospital. I really enjoyed the friendliness of the lady who took care of the breakfast room. The breakfast choices were good and much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The door to our room was so out of line or warped that unless you exerted tremendous force to push or pull (as the case may be), it would not close securely or open, respectively. The room smelled overwhelmingly of mold and some sort of cleaning chemicals. The complementary breakfast food was terrible. My wife says it consists largely of cancer causing artificial food additives. All in all, this was the worst stay I've ever had at any Hilton property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Property: Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Address: 1886 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing