We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful value for your money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for your money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staying in this wonderful - clean, friendly, and comfortable hotel right now. Rooms are clean and spacious enough (have a microwave and mini-fridge), coffee, tea, cocoa in a lobby 24/7, full hot breakfast (fruits, fruit salad, yogurts, juices, omelet, meat patties, hush-browns, waffles, oatmeal with a toppings, cereal. Beautiful and serene courtyard... Kroger, Subway, Chinese restaurant (clean and classy, not just a hole in a wall - review will follow) across the street. Business center well-stocked with FedEx shipping necessities, envelopes, highlighters... Good overall feeling about this place. Came to VT graduation, and will definitely stay here again while in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the elevators, that are a little noisy, but reservation allows you to list you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blendedbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    118
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
150
100
31
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
465 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Checking in there was a line of five with two working check-in. Neither had smiles or made you feel welcome. We are Hilton Gold and were using the AARP which allows a 2PM check-out and when we said we'd need that check-out time - it was a major problem "we need to get the rooms clean - our check out is 11 AM," etc etc. We told them and it was right on the reservation that we were entitled to a 2PM checkout. After many minutes of debate and deliberation they finally uncordially gave us the OK. Rooms are OK - comfortable and clean - however the ceilings really need repainting - in our suite there was a large area by the AC vent that was blackened by the air. Breakfast was a bit better than the usual Hampton's so I must give them credit for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great hotel and easily excessible. The room was very comfortable and clean. I wish we didn't have to get up so early in the morning so we could have enjoyed the the room a little longer and the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inter509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Electric Road Hampton in Salem, Virginia is wonderful -- beds are like clouds - heating and cooling perfect -- could not be any cleaner-quieter-terrific breakfast - super coffee all day long -- warm cookies at 4:00 p.m. each day == each member of the staff makes you feel you are their only guest - always smiling and asking how they can help! Nothing better !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hampton Inn, in Salem, VA was convenient, very clean and close to the major restaurants...colleges, specifically Roanoke and Hollins as well as VA Tech were minutes away.
Hotel location was near I-81 and other major highways.....a good midway point to they south.
The hotel is usually very busy with corporate guests....

Room Tip: Call ahead or arrive early.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgh527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I travel a great deal for work in my state of Virginia, and I recommend Hilton Hotels (especially Hampton Inns). Hampton Inns are run very professionally with qualified staff in every dept. giving not only the Hilton Honor member great service for the price but this professionalism extends to everyone that steps into the door. I am treated like family with everyone remembering my name and making me feel at home, since I travel and stay in hotels Every Week for my job. Because of this level of service, I will NOT pack up and move from hotel to hotel but stay in the 1 of 2 Hampton's in my territory and travel from that location instead of packing up and moving every other day. Most people believe Excellence only Exists in high end hotels with the Hilton, BUT HAMPTON INNS are top of the list for me as a business traveler who frequents " my favorite hotel-Salem, Va." every week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank P Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Level Contributor
236 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice hotel

Decent comforts,fine breakfast,very nice lobby,great cable-TV channel selection,adequate parking,room with fridge and micro,basic bathroom,comfortable beds.

Location is poor.Far from the interstate and no decent restaurant within walking distance.

I would stay again if Roanoke/Salem was a destination because the rest of the hotels in this town look like dumps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Property: Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing