We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay at this Hampton Inn location 2X yearly. It is my favorite HI in Virginia. The staff is friendly and the lobby and guest rooms are attractive and clean. There is a nice outdoor patio area to eat in and the hotel is convenient to Roanoke attractions like the art museum.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank guv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 548 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

was passing through the area on my motorcycle, needed a convenient, clean, efficient place to just stay overnight, while using my HiltonHonors points.

the hotel more than satisfied the requirements. Wish they did have a free internet in the rooms though. Good complimentary breakfast, clean rooms, really dig the clean, freshly washed comforters etc.

Room Tip: you probably wouldn't want your room to face the Oncology ward of the adjacent hospital, so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkafon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

wonderful stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and all went well. The breakfast buffet is really good first thing in the morning and the grandkids get what they want to start the day. Checking in and out is really great and no hassle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently had an unexpected stay at the Hampton Inn due to a death in the family. I was so impressed with how clean and quiet the hotel was. The breakfast was tasty and there were plenty of choices - much better than the usual danish and lukewarm coffee. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't usually stay at Hampton Inn's but when I do, I prefer to stay at their newer ones. Unfortunately, for my last trip to this area, I had to stay here instead of Hotel Roanoke. Obviously, they are 2 different hotels but Hampton Inn's are great when they are newer but this one was an older one. Room decor was a bit outdated, beds were comfy, bathrooms outdated, basic breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaf1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for food options, shopping and hospital. The lobby renovation is complete and looks great. More open with optional seating now. The front desk and housekeeping are very pleasant and receptive to requests. Breakfast is always great and the server is always smiling and checking to see if you would like anything else. The rooms are clean and quiet. I had a room near the elevator and never heard it. The only real negative to the stay was the door that leads out to the small balcony had a gap and cold air come in to the room. It was also secured by a single bolt that I was not sure was a great security measure. As a woman, we worry about room security. Overall, this is a great hotel for the location and I would book here again in the future.

Room Tip: My room had a whirlpool bathroom that really helps you prepare for sleep after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Experienced a couple of problems due to housekeeping "oversight". Otherwise the food and room was nice and staff was very pleasant. Hotel lobby was being remodeled but didn't seem to bother us. Liked the cookies in the early evening.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor right off the lobby and kept hearing motors running. I think it was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannyLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
536 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
5.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Address: 1886 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $99 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing