We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I checked in on 10/30 for a weeks stay, first room was in for 4 nights, room was great, nice, clean, no complaints, had to move for the 5th night due to someone booking the room for that night. Was moved next door, so was easy to open doors and move from one room to other. he 2nd room, was TIGHT, and whoever the Housekeeping person was DIDN"T CLEAN bathroom very well. Found black hair all over bathroom, from toilet, to shower, to the top of the haidryer and all over the bathroom. had the housekeeping supervisor come in to see, she was very sorry, tried cleaning the bathroom, but didn't get all the hair. Felt something more should have been done, Housekeeping supervisor said same thing but nothing was done. Over all experience was good, just will stay on another floor when I return....

Room Tip: Check bathroom well, make sure no hairs on toilet, hairdryer, door, floor etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 548 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

My room was on the third floor. For some reason I am always on the third floor. Nice hotel, good location. The amenities were good during my 4 day stay. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and neat. Everything you would expect from a Hampton, and not aging as some on here have stated. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel is showing it's age, doors stick in the room, faucet handles come off when you use them. Elevated concerns to management and was basically told if I didn't like it to stay somewhere else. I had a problem with my bill and the General Manager / Owner told me I was stupid! Find somewhere else to stay!

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This review reflects our most recent stay (previous one was in 2005), but nothing much has changed --- a very nice hotel and pleasant experience. This is a high-rise Hampton Inn, built as such, and is obviously geared to the business and medical community in which it is located (right next to Roanoke/Salem’s major medical center). The facility is Extremely Clean, nice and comfortable, with Very Good beds and pillows, ample seating and shelf space and Very Good lighting. The same applies to the bathroom, which has a Very Good shower, lighting and shelf pace as well as four sets of Good towels. Although not new, the facility has been very well maintained, has a very nice common area and Very Good security. Staff attitude was extremely pleasant, upbeat, and helpful. The weakest point for this hotel on this recent trip was a mattress pad that was too small for the bed and tended to get bunched up making for a lumpy bed. Newspapers are complimentary as is full-service WiFi throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rm 103 is on the front, 1st floor, away from the traffic on Electric Blvd. Very quiet and very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I want to comment on this facility. My opinion reflect my room and only the room that was assign to us (406)

Before I reserve, I ask the age of the hotel. I was told 13 years but remodel with statement was not true.

I have to say that the front desk personnels was polite and helpful.

The manager apologize for the bad quality for the stay.

The business center is well maintain, provide 2 computers ands printers, everything you need

There was no water bottle in the gym room.

There is many sign on aging in and out of our room (406):

1) Wall paper not stick to the wall
2) Noisy Air Conditioning and plus, not automatic
3) Refrigerator very noisy and as to be unplug
5) Chair in the lobby broken
6) find that the phone on night stand not working after a false fire alarm around 3:10 in the morning, as to use cell phone. The attendant said that it was normal since couple of room are connected on the same phone line of the alarm system.
7) Carpet in elevator dirty
8) Pool paint fade
9) No air conditioning in corridor
10) Sheet rock joint broken in rest room

Breakfast
1) breakfast is minimal, no water and no milk
2) The breakfast room is small

I did not have to pay for my stay. I would prefer a good night stay rather than to be reimburse. I was not rested and it make my day of driving to Philadelphia more longer since I was really tired. I could say one thing, the Hampton Inn in Raleigh (Capital Boulevard was more than perfect). I think that hotel should be remodel and they should improve the staff in order to see detail like I notice like a non working phone on night stand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocrac0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Nice place, comparable to other Hampton Inns. Stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover point to and from Washington DC. Location is a little bit out of the way if you are passing through. There are a few restaurants in the general area but not a lot. Otherwise, it was a pleasant place to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmg2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Hampton Inn in Salem, Virginia is pretty typical of the more contemporary hotels in this chain. It is located next to a large medical center, and perhaps that is the reason that it was full during my stay. The breakfast was similar to other Hampton Inns, although the dining area was small and elbow-to-elbow. There is a nice outdoor swimming pool with a very pleasant deck. I was not able to get the requested queen or king-size bed. The double bed seemed larger than the standard double bed, although I found it soft and saggy for my preferences. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and the free parking and wireless Internet service made the stay a better value than many competing hotels. If you are looking for a good restaurant, the Chianti Restaurant is excellent and very nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
536 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
5.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Address: 1886 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $100 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing