We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Salem
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The wife and I were headed home on I81 in Virginia at around 5 PM. We decided to stop in Salem, saw a billboard ad for Days Inn. The sign said best prices in town and free HOT breakfast. The price was a shock - $91 for 2 people. Being tired I decided to take the room.The room was OK. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked. The plumbing was not OK. It took 10 min to get hot water to bath. The tub drained so slow that you showered standing in water. The next disappointment was the HOT breakfast. The only hot items were waffles, sausage and coffee. Everything else was cold. If you are looking for a reasonable price and a good hot breakfast, bypass this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcrich47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    80
    31
    24
See reviews for
96
42
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very outdated and had a creepy feeling about it. Bathroom was dirty and a pillow appeared to have mold on it. Don't go cheap in this area of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Small dark rooms but generally clean. Bed was surprising comfortable for a Day's Inn. Facility is aging but furnishings are newer. Some cigarette burns in bed covers. No smoking room did not have a smoke odor much I found at some lower end motels. A functional place to sleep but nothing more. Breakfast what you would expect, nothing more. Coffee was horrible, but a Starbucks half a block away in the Kroger parking lot. Normally I avoid Day's Inn because in the past I would give most a single star. But this one was better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ctjustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
428 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The staff was nice and the room was clean, but it was very noisy. The first night other guest kept me up with bouncing balls and loud conversation. I think it would be best if they hired a security guard to ask guests to be quieter after 10 p.m. These people talked ALL night loudly. By the second night I was so exhausted that I had to sleep. There was no elevator (three floors) and a tiny staircase to lug all your luggage up. I don't think we could evacuate safely in a fire. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 13 in Salem
440 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Property: Days Inn Salem
Address: 1535 E Main St, Salem, VA 24153-4407 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing