We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Salem
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The wife and I were headed home on I81 in Virginia at around 5 PM. We decided to stop in Salem, saw a billboard ad for Days Inn. The sign said best prices in town and free HOT breakfast. The price was a shock - $91 for 2 people. Being tired I decided to take the room.The room was OK. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked. The plumbing was not OK. It took 10 min to get hot water to bath. The tub drained so slow that you showered standing in water. The next disappointment was the HOT breakfast. The only hot items were waffles, sausage and coffee. Everything else was cold. If you are looking for a reasonable price and a good hot breakfast, bypass this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcrich47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very outdated and had a creepy feeling about it. Bathroom was dirty and a pillow appeared to have mold on it. Don't go cheap in this area of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Small dark rooms but generally clean. Bed was surprising comfortable for a Day's Inn. Facility is aging but furnishings are newer. Some cigarette burns in bed covers. No smoking room did not have a smoke odor much I found at some lower end motels. A functional place to sleep but nothing more. Breakfast what you would expect, nothing more. Coffee was horrible, but a Starbucks half a block away in the Kroger parking lot. Normally I avoid Day's Inn because in the past I would give most a single star. But this one was better.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ctjustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The staff was nice and the room was clean, but it was very noisy. The first night other guest kept me up with bouncing balls and loud conversation. I think it would be best if they hired a security guard to ask guests to be quieter after 10 p.m. These people talked ALL night loudly. By the second night I was so exhausted that I had to sleep. There was no elevator (three floors) and a tiny staircase to lug all your luggage up. I don't think we could evacuate safely in a fire. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sari P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
510 reviews
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Address: 1535 E Main St, Salem, VA 24153-4407 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing