We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel meets the basics”
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Salem
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed March 27, 2012

the days Inn is convenient for salem and off interstate 81. IT has a good price for a room going for it if you book in advance like the Days inn program (2 weeks) . The Breakfast is continental and OK. For traveling and needing a place to sleep and go on, use it. But it is not for an extended stay. Clean and front desk is adequate. I would go into Salem for meals. price is the best thing going for hotel with convenient location 1-2 miles from I-81.

Room Tip: get room for king bed and where you can be near your vehicle for convenience.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c51man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed one night on our way back from georgia to harrisonburg and it wae perfect.It was very comfortable.very nice staff as well as helpful.Lots of restaurent just by walking distance.Easy assess to I-81.I'll stay here again.strongly recommanddd.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmarrow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great place! Staff was especially friendly &very helpful.Very clean hotel.The cleaning staff were friendly and courteous.Large variety of breakfast foods.Very close to several restaurent.Excellent service.Would highley recommand.We stayed here 4th time in last 2 months.Thank you Days Inn in Salem,VA.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The employee's was nice, but this place was old and had to change rooms the first time,
due to the lock would not work on the outside. The room smelled of cigarette smoke and it
was a non smoking room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojoVillaRicaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Basic and moderately clean. The cleaning crew were throwing sheets on the outdoor staircases ( no elevators) making it particularly dangerous to carry luggage to and from your room. Its nice to see their linens are so cared for! My bf and I were checking out and U noticed what may have been a cultural difference. I had said thank you to the hotel worker and did not even get a smile in response and my boyfriend said the same a few seconds later...resulting in a big smile and a your welcome! Perhaps women are inferior in indian culture.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psbnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Average, tidy but not sparkling clean. Typical Days Inn breakfast, but we went across the street to the IHOP since it sounded better. It's near a grocery store and gas station, which is nice if you're on a road trip and need somewhere basic to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amamuhiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Everyone was VERY nice to us at this hotel, and the hotel was clearly still undergoing some updates (fresh paint smell permeated the bathroom), but you should be warned that the hotel rooms may not be as clean as they seem upon first glance. Around 10.30 at night, my mother and I first discovered two babies cockroaches in the bathroom, and by 5am the adult had decided to appear. One of the babies had been squished on the tiling, yet this had not been cleared out before my family arrived to stay in the room. We believe the problem may be the ventilation system, which was visibly old and outdated (and dirty). It's possible that this problem is unique, as I don't see any other reviewers mentioning it, but you should be forewarned. Although, as noted, everyone working at the hotel was VERY nice (especially the breakfast buffet lady--though, needless to say, we only ate the pre-packaged breakfast foods).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vgnhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Salem
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 13 in Salem
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Address: 1535 E Main St, Salem, VA 24153-4407 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $61 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing