We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great stop”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Ruther Glen
Restaurant details
Edinburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a great stop”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Was traveling 95 S/B and decided to stop for breakfast. Was a Friday AM around 5AM or so. Not at all crowded. The sign says they want to seat you and I had to stand around for a long time before the server came out. Hope was the server for the entire place. She was very nice but spread way too thin. My order came with a Waffle, eggs, bacon and sausage. The bacon was the thinnest I have ever seen but at least it was cooked crispy as requested. The sausage didn't come out and I didn't see Hope again until I was almost done with breakfast. She retrieved it for me once I pointed it out. I haven't been to a Denny's in many years and wasn't impressed with this one at all. Won't visit one again anytime soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff is pleasant - no problems there. The food did not even remotely resemble the pictures in the menu. Seriously. Definitely leave any menu item which includes "steak" alone. I will never go back there. McDonalds would have been a much better choice. UGH!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Slightly Above "never eat there again"”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

2 stars is a stretch, but I've also told myself I will only give 1 star if I refused to eat there again. In Dennys case, we're close. I would eat there again if there was nothing else around.

My first clue should have been the fact that Dennys is connected to a large truck stop. My wife and I both ordered Moon over My Hammy. Looked great in the menu. But came out as a pile of eggs & cheese on very greasy Texas toast. I also ordered a side of pancake puppies. Also very greasy, and reminded me of something you would get at a County Fair. Wish we had just gone to McDonalds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Who Would Have Thought...?”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We tried this Denny's because we were desperate for breakfast food traveling on 95 one Sunday. I couldn't quite coordinate my usual Trip Advisor map recommendations, so we landed here, initially to my dismay. I may have been to Denny's twice in my life...nothing memorable... I had somewhat of a negative impression of the chain in general. We were seated after a few minutes, because they seemed to be very understaffed with help to clear the tables. A few remaining tables had piled up dirty dishes. Staff was pleasant and prompt otherwise. I ordered the Waffle Slam. I enjoyed everthing from the basic scrambled eggs to the chicken sausage and add on hashbrowns. I expected the waffle to be doughy and tough, but it was very good. Pleasantly surprised with the taste of everything. I am not sure if this is location specific due to high traffic and food being fresher...more turnover being in a Travel Plaza? I can't say this is now a new favorite, but I would not be opposed to going to another Denny's in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikzleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“ok food for late night”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There aren't many places to eat at 12:40 a.m.The food was ok,. The service was GREAT. The downside is the amount of truck drivers who use the restaurant as it is located in a truckstop!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

 
Ruther Glen, VA
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing