We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn
Nearby Hotels
$48
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Ruther Glen(Ruther Glen)
$50
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
19
36
25
16
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
36
25
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings dominionwaffle houseroom was cleantruck stopupon entering the roomquiet locationbreakfast staffnice breakfastoff the highwaynext morningup to datecleanlinessshampoovirginia
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 118 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a fairly typical hotel in this price range with a few exceptions: the management is very accomodating and tries hard to please. The rooms were clean and large, with some wear issues apparent but again in this price range acceptable. There is a Waffle house right next door, a gas station close by and a Denny's across the street. The walls are a bit thin, and I had noisy neighbors one night,which the manager quiet down. The second night the hotel was full, but quiet so must have been very loud neighbors the first night!

The pool didn't look clean--not a problem for me as I didn't to use it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKRMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I am very surprised reading these reviews. I in fact had a really good stay at this hotel .. my wife and I travel from Canada to Florida every year and we always make it a point to stay at this hotel . Its clean , spacious rooms , Very friendly staff and a good breakfast all for a very good rate.They also have an indoor pool and a gym which my wife and I always use.

Looking forward to staying with them on our next visit.!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Peter Vora
General Manager
Comfort Inn, Ruther Glen VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had an unexpected night added to a business trip in the area. The place looked OK from the outside (although only four cars in the parking lot at 6:30 PM) and even the lobby but I definitely would not stay here again. The second floor smelled like smoke, and the bed and sofa in my non-smoking room were filled with cigarette burns, smelled like a cheap disgusting air freshener (or port-o-potty). Black mold growing in the toilet bowl. Smoke detector missing with wires hanging out of the ceiling. I generally avoid hotels with permanent residents, especially permanent residents at the hotel counter that look at you like you have two heads if you say hello to them, this hotel has both. Should have checked Trip Advisor first....Maybe Choice Hotels should read Trip Advisor reviews and they would learn a thing or two about their franchised properties? There are other places to stay nearby, pass on this dump and the weird bunch that lives here, esp for the price. Oh yeah - the stairway smelled like body odor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InTooDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Peter Vora
Comfort Inn, Ruther Glen VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was by far the worst hotel we've stayed in. The room was awful and customer service was even worse! While preparing for bed sometime after midnight, my husband and I pulled back the bedspread and discovered dirty sheets! We were horrified! We requested clean bed linen and pillowcases from the front desk as well as remade the bed. The linen had not been changed in between customer bookings; however the bed had been made by housekeeping. We confronted the front desk clerk; however it was like talking to a brick wall. Also during this trip, upon checkout, we learned from another guest that the front desk staff booked his room twice and gave a duplicate key to another customer; whereby the second booking/customer walked in on the first customer. The front desk staff thought this situation was funny! The customer service was horrible. Word to the Wise.....NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Tip......Stay away from this hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momluv3us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Peter Vora
Comfort Inn, Ruther Glen VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Did some research to find a pet-friendly hotel but also one (at my son's request) w/ a pool. After a 7 hr drive we were anxious to get settled & relax. At check in we were told no pets in suites & they had to downgrade us to a regular rm (less space). The rm had a gross, sweetish odor, dampness, mold? TV would tune in only 8 channels. When hubby asked at the desk the clerk would only acknowledge. He did not offer to do anything about & seemed to not care at all. We didn't dare walk barefoot in the room, the carpet felt "damp" and dirty. The wallpaper is peeling in places. One bedspread was stained slightly. And to top it off we did not dare to use the pool after looking at it. It is indoor & the water almost appeared to be "thick". We noticed condensation from the humidifier dripping down into it -yuck! Some may ask why we stayed-simply because it was late & it's not easy to find a hotel at the last minute that will take a dog. I slept fully clothed & am checking out asap. Oh, & too scared to eat the provided breakfast food considering the condition & lack of care regarding other aspects of the hotel. Bottom line-Don't stay here if you want a clean hotel room with all the amenities usable & clean as promised on their website. One work review = ICK!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Peter Vora
Comfort Inn, Ruther Glen VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews