We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A satisfactory experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ruther Glen
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    19
    18
    45
See reviews for
33
23
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Chatham
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room was adequate for a road side motel. Located adjacent to gas and food, First room had a bad TV. Changed rooms and found the coffee maker did not work in the am. The Breakfast was very limited with stale bread for toast., real cheap prepackaged sweet rolls and waffle maker.( Had basically the same breakfast the previous morning at a Red Roof Inn. Both white and wheat bread was fresh, Coffee area appealing. Biscuits and sausage gravy was hot ) Area was not inviting and took coffee to go.. Would not use this motel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank sosdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi B, Manager at Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank for stay in super 8 in Ruther glen. I am under stand your question but super 8 have only complementary breakfast. Thary are not upgred yet hot breakfast . Future super 8 get a hot breakfast stay withe us in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNDMOOR
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

the breakfast food was horrible there was no coffee, the food was stale, the room itself was ok, the rugs were gross

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank bagsmotorcycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruther Glen hotels

MARIETTA
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sign entering the lobby states, "shoes and shirts required" yet manager was walking around in bare feet. Breakfast opens at 6. Arrived in the lobby at 6:30 and the doors were locked, no fruit available, not sure if the milk was fresh. I wasn't sure I even wanted to sleep in the bed, the sheets were either stained or just dirty. Shower pressure was okay but the bathroom looked and felt dirty. Not all television stations came in clear and you can really hear the traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank HEIDI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After this experience we will never stay in any Wyndham properties ever again.
Don't they ever send reps. to police these properties?
The first thing that greeted us upon arrival to our room was a large trash can with partially eaten food topped with an old pillow.
This remained outside our door our whole stay.
The second thing we notice upon entering the room was the stains and burn holes in the bed spread.(this was a "no smoking" room).
Under the bed spread was a blanket with matching stains and burn holes.
Under the blanket was a small sheet, not a fitted sheet, that didn't quite fit the bed.
Although we arrived an hour after check-in time there were no towels in the room.
The first thing we wanted after a long drive was a shower before dinner.
We waited an hour after contacting the desk and finally I visited the office to advise them we were leaving if we couldn't get towels.
The person behind the desk spoke very little English and just stood there smiling.
The maid happened to be in the room and told me I was impatient.
After an unpleasant discussion, I was able to procure some towels.
After a shower, the television was turned on and the snow was so bad that none of the channels were watchable.
WiFi is advertized but we were unable to connect to it.
The bathroom door squeaked as if the hinges hadn't been oiled since the place was built.
Morning couldn't come soon enough.
Upon exiting our room we noticed what appeared to be feces smeared on the mattress that had been exposed by the ill fitted sheet.
This was the direst, most disgusting hotel we've ever stayed in.
Before staying in this dump, consider camping out in the woods nearby .

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel two nights for the Labor day weekend. Boy did I make a mistake. I should have read the reviews first. When I finally arrived after seven hours of night driving the clerk gave me attitude while checking in. The room stunk, the bed was very small and uncomfortable, the carpet was filthy and the decor was from the 80s. The wall are very thin. I hear the guest in the next room having relations. There was a wasp flying near the bathroom and the sink Sunday morning so I wanted a different room because I didn't want me or my family to get stung. The manager didn't want to give me a different room until 11am I made it very clear I wasn't going to wait. The second room was in the same shape. Washclothes and towels were dingy and had hair on them. The ice machine was moldy! Do not stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel. I wish I had paid a few more bucks at elsewhere. The only good thing abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayla2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruther Glen
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruther Glen
111 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
731 reviews
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
12.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area

Property: Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area
Address: 24011 Ruther Glen Rd, Ruther Glen, VA 22546-3418 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Richmond - Kings Dominion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ruther Glen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ruther Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ruther Glen Kings Dominion Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ruther Glen
Super Eight Ruther Glen
Ruther Glen Super Eight
Ruther Glen Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing