We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruckersville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Poor check in quality. Bad processes. Poorly trained check in people. Not ready for a heavy weekend. Shift change did not account for possible heavy check in and no assistance offered to people waiting for check in. Process included clerk having to go elsewhere to make copies of credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Steve & Kathlee... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. You were part of an extremely large group and, unfortunately, our contacts with the group did not advise us of estimated arrival times. We did, however, have two people working and assisting with the numerous early check-ins. The somewhat longer wait time for check-in (5-7 minutes in reviewing that day's arrivals), was simply due to volume and not a training issue. I understand your frustration seeing some additional staff members during shift change and feeling as if they did not offer to check you in. However, the front desk only has two computers and they were both in use consistently with the flow of arrivals. I was personally out at the front desk assisting with the arrivals to ensure everything was being handled at the highest possible level of service to all guests. We apologize again for any inconvenience you may have experienced and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels return you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival, April was friendly and willing to assist. I had not stayed at a Best Western in years, so my frequent travel points card did not work. April tried several avenues, but did not locate the number. Within 5 minutes of checking into my room, April called me to try other variations to help me locate my long unused account. Wow, that was unexpected and great!
Rooms here are as good or better than rooms in Northern VA Marriott Courtyards I have stayed at. Valerie was incredibly helpful with getting my project team a conference room and supplies we needed to have a productive meeting. Service here is top notch.
I will stay again when coming to this area.

Room Tip: King size bed - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late on a Friday night after a long drive. The person at the desk was somewhat cranky while her co-worker was quite cheery. The first rather put a damper on the initial impression. The room was a little off the wall with its color scheme and appointments but we got used to it rather quickly. We liked this place and would return, with the idea that we just caught the desk person at a bad moment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is very clean and neat appearance, although a into the hotel lobby is not big, but the layout is reasonable, a light fragrance, refreshing, immediately dispelled the eastlands from exhaustion, desk clerk have craigslist smiling service enthusiasm, let you really feel and to return to the hotel is clean and neat, whatever you go to which place which bearing, are very clean, swimming pool, gym, hardware and software, readily available, room decorate warmth, from the toilet, to microwave oven, refrigerator, safe, hair dryer, electric iron, humanization, ing! Only can eggs pick bone, to the next level is the hotel breakfast, hope is a bit hot, hot milk, hot soup, suitable for guests from different countries, next time you have the opportunity to continue to check in

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Guowei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice stay and the service was great, I have enjoyed the entire stay, hope you guys keep the property clean and same. Thank you to all the staff. I will stay here again if I come back to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yugandhar Reddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Positive reviews posted led us to choose this property and we were not disappointed. Comfy bed, clean room prompted a second night stay ... totally enjoyable. One con was locating the property after dark, signage was not very visible .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very clean & newly appointed room. Upgraded bathroom. Fantastic 1800 sq ft excercise room. Breakfast left a little bit to be desired - but staff was very helpful. Internet connection had some problems with initial login, but afterwards was OK. Check-in and out went very smoothly. Very pleasant housekeeping staff. Excellent choice & would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruckersville
7.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,423 reviews
10.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
370 reviews
10.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
976 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville

Address: 5920 Seminole Trail, Ruckersville, VA 22968-0900 (Formerly Charlottesville Airport Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ruckersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruckersville
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new 100 percent non-smoking Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Charlottesville - Ruckersville. We are conveniently located on Route 29, four miles north of the Charlottesville Albemarle Airport (CHO). With our location being 14 miles north of Downtown Charlottesville, we offer a quiet setting off the highway. Leisure guests will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville near popular area attractions: Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, James Madison's Montpelier, Shenandoah National Park, Monticello Wine Trail and the University of Virginia. Share the spirit of the Cavaliers at Scott Stadium or catch a concert at John Paul Jones Arena. As a guest at our modern hotel near Charlottesville, enjoy convenient amenities including free breakfast, on-site parking and Wi-Fi with every stay. Our hotel also features a 24-hour fitness center, business center and seasonal, outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Charlottesville Airport Hotel Ruckersville
Best Western Plus Charlottesville Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Ruckersville
Ruckersville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing