We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-day business trip to Charlottesville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruckersville
Certificate of Excellence
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two-day business trip to Charlottesville”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything was great . . . except the housekeeping. Microwave dirty from pizza cooking, bed not made up neatly for 2nd night, and coffee service supplies completely confused and inadequate.

This motel is new, well located and offers excellent value for the money. Great fitness and business centers and excellent breakfast.

BW please train (re-train?) your maids! I will be staying with you again . . . and hope I can give a 5-star rating to everything next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of your most recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time discouraged to hear about some of your housekeeping concerns. We do have some newer staff and I will immediately follow up to ensure that your feedback is addressed. Thank you, again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    96
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
131
76
19
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This might be classified as a typical Best Western. it has a nice lobby, the clerks at registration were polite and friendly, the double queen room was spacious and clean. The coffee maker needs to be upgraded as it is the cheapest model available and is inconveniently placed on top of the microwave. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and the attendant was very efficient. All that aside, My family group had four rooms, which were listed at less than $100 daily on the day before our stay and on the day after our stay. Our stay was over the graduation weekend and the daily charge had been bumped to more than $200. Now, many rooms in the Charlottesville area were bumped because of the graduation demand, but this motel is twenty minutes from Charlottesville and the more than 100% bump doesn't make it a better motel. Although we knew this was going to be the charge when we registered five months earlier, we did not know that the motel would charge our card three months before our arrival, and that on our arrival, they would put an additional forty dollars charge on the card, for reasons that were unclear (although this forty dollar charge was deducted several weeks after our stay). So that marks our final stay in any Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sortir_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. All of the rooms do have brand new single cup brewers that were just put in prior to the dates of your stay. I can assure you the hotel does price itself competetively in the area, though the rates were higher due to the special event time frame of UVA graduation. Our property did price lower than downtown hotels and we were more flexible with guests regarding shorter cancellation time (14 days whereas some hotels were non-cancellable), providing additional time to make changes as all reservations were full prepayment required at time of booking (we waited to charge until after the new year) and shorter minimum length of stay requirements. All hotels do an authorization hold for any possible incidental charges upon arrival, which was the $40 hold placed on your card as the room & tax was already billed. When nothing was used, the hotel releases the hold. I apologize as it sounds as though your bank took a longer than normal time to release the hold after your departure. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 434-985-1855.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I thought the hotel was great. We were in town for an AAU Basketball event and couldn't find any inexpensive rooms in Charlottesville. So we decided to drive about 10 miles north to stay at the Best Western. It served it's purpose of a good nights sleep, complimentary breakfast was good not a lot of options but more than just doughnuts, bagels, toast and coffee. I think they had a lot going on in Charlottesville that caused rates to be higher not only here but everywhere in Charlottesville, so we probably paid about $50 a night than you would normally pay but I wasn't disappointed as much when we got to the hotel. Everyone was friendly, hotel was quiet and we got what we came for was a good comfortable good nights sleep. I would definantly stay at this hotel in the future, you really can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFisher312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We thank you for staying with choosing to stay at our hotel, even being a little outside of downtown Charlottesville and taking the time to provide an on-line review. We are pleased to hear you felt the room was a good value and were able to enjoy the complimentary breakfast. We certainly hope that your travels bring you back to the area and we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On March 29 we went to Charlottesville for an overnight trip. It was Easter weekend so we could not get a suite elsewhere. We had a king suite to accommodate 4 people. The room was very spacious and clean and the King Size Bed was very comfortable. The living room had a sofa bed for two. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and included eggs, coffee, juice, and I believe a waffle maker. The hotel was definitely better than your typical Best Western and for about $146 plus tax, was a very good value. It is on Rt 29 about 20 minutes North of Charlottesville, 30 minutes from Monticello. There are tons of restaurants on Rt 29. No problems with this hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kappy9857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with a review regarding your stay. The King Suite is our most spacious room and we are happy to hear that it accomodated your group to your satisfaction. We hope you come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here (2) nights while visiting Monticello and Shenandoah National Park. We found it was a great location, central between both places. I priced out a lot of hotels in the area and this was one of the lower nightly rates. The hotel looked to be fairly new.
We had requested top (3rd) floor away from elevators when we booked the room and were given just that. Some hotels I've found don't always try to honor a request. It was quiet both nights. Bed was comfortable with NO heavy spread or blanket like some other hotels that we all know aren't laundered after every stay. Room was both large and clean. The only minor flaw was in the small size and layout of the bathroom. The fitness center is modern with plenty of equipment.
Comp breakfast was standard fare with a few hot items, certainly enough of a selection.
The hotel sets back off RT 29 and the turn into it is easy to miss, especially at dark. Don't let the "airport" part of the hotel name deter you. I've stayed at " airport hotels" for Regional airports before and many are right next to the airport. The noise of planes is a consideration. This BW though is a few miles away. We are planning a fall trip to Shenandoah and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillianp1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad you were pleased with the accomodations and our staff service in honoring your room location requested. We look forward to seeing you again should your travels return you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night prior to a very early morning flight out of the C'ville airport. The hotel was great for my purposes - a short easy drive to the airport, at least at the time of day I was going (5 am). The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and quiet. My 4 am wake-up call came right on time. Breakfast isn't served until 6:30 or so, but there is a Dunkin Donuts just across the parking lot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peromyscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruckersville
7.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,351 reviews
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
525 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
9.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
356 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Address: 5920 Seminole Trail, Ruckersville, VA 22968-0900 (Formerly Charlottesville Airport Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ruckersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruckersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new 100 percent non-smoking Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Charlottesville - Ruckersville. We are conveniently located on Route 29, four miles north of the Charlottesville Albemarle Airport (CHO). With our location being 14 miles north of Downtown Charlottesville, we offer a quiet setting off the highway. Leisure guests will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville near popular area attractions: Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, James Madison's Montpelier, Shenandoah National Park, Monticello Wine Trail and the University of Virginia. Share the spirit of the Cavaliers at Scott Stadium or catch a concert at John Paul Jones Arena. As a guest at our modern hotel near Charlottesville, enjoy convenient amenities including free breakfast, on-site parking and Wi-Fi with every stay. Our hotel also features a 24-hour fitness center, business center and seasonal, outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Charlottesville Airport Hotel Ruckersville
Best Western Plus Charlottesville Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Ruckersville
Ruckersville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing