We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast decent - No Room Refrigerator - micro coffee maker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast decent - No Room Refrigerator - micro coffee maker”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a very nice newer hotel with easy access to highway 220 and the normal range of strip mall services. The room was comfortable with a large flat screen TV. We were in a $100/night room, Queen non smoking, with a pretty decent breakfast in the morning with a variety of options. However, there was no refrigerator in our room and the coffee maker was one of those flimsy teeny tiny affairs that you can only use their mesh coffee bags.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff.

Our standard king and queen double rooms do not have refrigerators and microwaves. I am truly sorry about that. We do offer refrigerator and microwaves in our executive rooms and suites. Finally, regarding the coffee maker. We chose to switch from the four cup coffee maker to the one cup coffee maker because of health issues with cleaning the glass carafe. Switching to the one coffee maker is a more sanitized method of our in-room coffee service. On the most part we get very positive comments regarding our one cup coffee maker.

I would like to thank you for your most recent stay and I do hope you will consider using our Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia if your lodging needs takes you this direction in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
19
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice, the location has been great for my travels. Both times I have noticed there is a stale/ musky odor at this property (cigerate smoke?) Once you get into a non smoking room, the odor is less noticable. I have found both rooms larger than most HIE, and the HVAC has worked well. The front desk staff during my first visit was very friendly, the second visit they were a bit sirly. Breakfast was the standard HIE, nothing noteable. There is an Apple Bees accross the highway, other resturants nearby. The price paid was better than average

Room Tip: The back side of the property not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paintman0954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff. I can see that we did not meet the friendly staff on your second visit. We are working on our customer service and do not want that to do be an issue for future travelers.

Regarding the stale musty order that you noticed on both visits. We are investigating that issue, we have not received any other comments from our guests on that matter. However we are working on the possibility of converting the hotel to 100% smoke free hotel. If we decide to go smoke free we will start the process by the end of 2012.

Again I would like to thank you for your comments and I do hope you will continue to use the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia for your lodging needs if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

lovely, clean, friendly---would make this a 'must' stop if we go this way again. breakfast was fantastic, quite a variety of foods to choose from, a good nights sleep, terrific value for the money, again could not find anything wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia.

We take pride in our hotel and I can see we met your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff.

The Holiday Inn Express breakfast program gives everyone many options to choose from. You can enjoy the hot breakfast which includes the signature cinnamon roll by Holiday Inn Express. Just in case you may not realize it but if you go to any other Holiday Inn Express you will experience the same breakfast.

Again thank you for your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia and hope to you see again in the future if your lodging needs takes you through Rocky Mount, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stay at HIE all over the place. Yes, we have come to expect that some properties are better or worse than others. This location is one of the low to middle HIEs. Mattress was okay but the sheets/duvet were quite worn. The pillows were nothing more than a case filled with torn up foam (big yuck). The worst was long hair strands (not mine) were found on one of the pillows and a pubie hair on a clean towel (dbl tuck). The check in clerk was pleasant but overwhelmed as she was very much by herself. Room not ready until 4:00. But a small town like Rocky Mount can only offer but so much and this is probably the best in town.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank serenitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your suggestions and comments regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia.

After reviewing your comments regarding the cleanliness of the pillow and towel condition. These two areas will be the main topic for our housekeeping meeting this week. We do continue to purchase new sheets and duvets on a routine basis to remove the old.

I am happy to hear that our front desk staff member was pleasant. At times it can get very hectic at the front desk with check-in’s, helping other guests needs etc. I am not sure of the night that you stayed with us but there are times rooms are not ready until later in the day because of a possible high occupancy the night before.

Finally I am happy to see that Holiday Inn Express Hotels are your preferred lodging needs. If your travel needs takes you back to the Rocky Mount, Virginia area I hope that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of nights ago, my previous stay was a few years before. The place shows a bit of age but still retains a typical HIE feel. The beds are very comfortable with a nice choice of pillows to use. It's located directly across the street from Wendys and Applebees. The AAA rate seems a tad high for the age of the property but I believe that has something to do with so few competition hotels in the area.

The breakfast is pretty good for hotel fare. There were more items than typically found at a free breakfast. The pancake machine is pretty darn cool and cooks up some tasty stuff!

Overall I was happy with my stay and will visit again when in the area for work.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeardedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your most recent return visit and comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Rocky Mount, Virginia. The hotel is only 6 years old and we feel it is a little too early to start a renovation program.\
You are so correct that the beds are comfortable. We get many positive comments regarding our bedding selection and yes the pancake machine does make some pretty good pancakes.

Regarding the AAA rating, We get an annual quality inspection from AAA and that is how the hotel is rating. There scoring system is specifically on condition and cleanliness. From my understanding of AAA, limited hotels in a specific area does not generate different scores.

Again, thanks for the comments and we will see you when your work brings you back to the Rocky Mount, Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

For $85 a night, it wasn't bad. The rooms do need some upgrading but the hotel staff was very nice and took care of any questions or concerns we had. The beds were a little hard and took some getting used to. If I were in the area again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Get a suite. I don't think they cost much more but have a ton of extra space. I did not get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBelle424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Yes, I would have to say we have a very good value at the room rate you received. Our hotel is only 6 years old and we feel it is a little too early to start a renovation program. Regarding the comfort of the bed, every guest has a certain type of bed they like, I am truly sorry that we did not meet those needs with you. Overall we get excellent comments regarding our bedding, the beds that we have at the hotel come from one of the preferred vendors of Intercontinental Hotels Group.

Finally I am so proud that our staff was able to answer any questions or concerns you had during your stay and that you come back to stay with us if you ever in the Rocky Mount, Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Smith Mtn Lake. I have stayed here many times of the last few years and very little has changed including all room decor, furniture, etc. The beds are worn out and sag badly after a few hours. You basically climb out of a hole in the morning. Breakfast is okay, but they constantly run out of items that could be easily pick up at the Kroger across the street if the management would allow them to do so. Fruit is rarely available and is not restocked until "the truck" makes its run. Room seemed to be cleaner during this visit. I will most likely stay here again only because there is no where else, no other choices. Not my favorite place to stay by any means and the rooms need to be stripped and refurnished. Get on the stick owners. Work out area was good with 2 tread mills, an elipical and bicycle.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 127, it is right next to the door to the pool and workout area. It is very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
First of all thank you for expressing your feelings and thoughts about our Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount/Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia.

I went back and read your comments from a year ago that you had posted on Tripadvisor as well. Our hotel is only 6 years old and we feel that the hotel is not ready for an entire renovation yet. We get many compliments regarding the comfort of beds that we use. In fact we use this same bed at our other hotels that we own and operate. I know each person is very specific to the comfort of the bed. Since the hotel just turned 6 years old we will be starting to look at this issue.

I am glad to hear that your room was much cleaner on this trip then your prior one. We are working hard with our housekeeping staff to provide a clean and comfortable stay.

You are correct that there is limited lodging in the Rocky Mount , Virginia area. I do hope that you continue to stay with us to see the changes that we have and will be making in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
16.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
17.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
728 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Address: 395 Old Franklin Tpke, Rocky Mount, VA 24151-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful new Rocky Mount Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off US 220 and Route 40. A 20 minute scenic drive will take you to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We are located minutes from MW Windows, Carilion Franklin Memorial Hospital, and other area businesses. A short 30 minute drive down 220S will lead you to Martinsville and for the race fans the Martinsville Speedway. A 20 minute drive on 220N will lead you to Roanoke Virginia. Ferrum College is about 10 minutes away making us a perfect place to stay for a parents weekend or a visit to the college. Offering both standard rooms with a king or 2 queen beds and suites we are sure to have a room to please every traveler All rooms have hairdryers, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and free high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Rocky Mount Virginia, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing