We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice Hotel in the Area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for husbands family reunion. Overall hotel stay was good, but it would be more of a better experience if front desk representatives would take the time to listen and not seem rushful. They charged my credit card incorrectly which was an inconvenience. Wasn't able to upgrade, but happy nevertheless.I would stay ay this hotel again, great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amari89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

I hope you enjoyed your family reunion and that you chose our hotel to stay at. Thank you for the comment that you thought your staff and hotel was good except for the billing errors that occured at the front desk. I am glad that we were able to fix that issue right away. We will continue to work our staff to make sure this does not happen again and not to be so rushful.

I do hope to see you in the future if your plans bring you to the Rocky Mount, Virginia area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I would not stay here again. First, the smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms are mixed on the third floor. You smell cigarette smoke when you get off the elevator and the only way to keep the stench out of your room is to run the fan on the heater/AC unit full time. Second, the beds are awful. Our room had a new pillow-top king bed that had a mattress pad on it that felt like cardboard. It felt like there was a vinyl cover under the bottom sheet. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Business_TravelerFFX,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel is nice. Has indoor heated pool and hot tub and fitness center. 1 treadmill was broke. Went to our room to check it out and there were 3 stink bugs on the bed! YUK! Front desk gave us another room. Found a stink bug on the floor there too. There were tiny ants in the bathroom coming through the grout. All of that aside, the hotel was comfortable. Breakfast was good. The room had 2 beds and was spacious. Good lighting in the bathroom also. Carpet was clean in room and I know because I had on white socks while there and they stayed white.

Room Tip: Go check out room before you bring in your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear hallover,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked the hotel locations as well as your room accommodations. We are deeply sorry you found stink bugs in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were in Rocky Mount to visit family. There are only two hotels in town, so you don't have much to choose from. Even with that being the case, this Holiday Inn is a nice choice. All of the staff that I encountered were very nice and friendly. PM and AM front desk staff as well as housekeeping and the folks assisting with the breakfast in the AM. Upon request the room was switched from smoking to nonsmoking. Extra towel request was granted. Assistance at breakfast was fulfilled. If I had to say anything was wrong it would be that the hot water took a while to get hot and the heater didn’t seem to go into an auto mode. It was all or nothing. The hotel is in a good area close to shopping and food. We had a double queen room and were also able to take a peek into a suite. The suite includes a sleeper couch and mini-fridge, some also include a Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount VA. during race weekend 10/28/11-10/30/11For the Nascar race in Martinsville,VA.We arrived early Friday morning and though it was before check in time they had our room ready and on the first floor as we requested.The girl at the front desk was great,She saw we were from NJ and she said she had just moved from New York.She was very friendly. Our room was nice and roomy and clean.We asked for extra towels and got them. The breakfast in the morning was nice and they started it early for the race fans.The bed was nice and comfy and the pillows were great.Our room was near an exit door which made it great to go to the car with the cooler each morning instead of having to go thru the lobby.The only issue was the exit door was suppose to be locked at night and a room key needed and it was never locked. The area around was nice, there was a Walmart, a grocery store and several places to eat. The ride to the track wasn't too bad either, about half an hour with no traffice. We are already booked for next years race there.!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Very bad experience here. Our room smelled like a hamster cage and there was hair on the bed. We were given a different room and the problem reoccurred. GPS does not know where this hotel is - no fault of the hotel, call ahead for directions before you arrive to the middle of no where.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everywhereman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family and I have stayed at this hotel for 5 years in a row about the same time every year so that we can visit family and enjoy Smith Mtn Lake. The hotel staff is very kind and pretty. Hotel is starting to show some age, carpet in hallways stained, etc. Rooms could be cleaner, vacuuming more effecient. Some rooms seem to be damp. I think the window A/C units are not removing enough moisture from the air, but are cooling the rooms well. There is no condensate dripping on the outside, so something is not right. Overall a good hotel for spending the night so that you can enjoy the lake or even a quick business stay. Breakfast was good and clean. Need to restock more quickly however. Beds are very soft and may be nonsupportive for some.

Room Tip: Ask for corporate rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
322 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
17.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
762 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake

Address: 395 Old Franklin Tpke, Rocky Mount, VA 24151-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range: $92 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful new Rocky Mount Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off US 220 and Route 40. A 20 minute scenic drive will take you to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We are located minutes from PlyGem Windows, Carilion Franklin Memorial Hospital, and other area businesses. A short 30 minute drive down 220S will lead you to Martinsville and for the race fans the Martinsville Speedway. A 20 minute drive on 220N will lead you to Roanoke Virginia. Ferrum College is about 10 minutes away making us a perfect place to stay for a parents weekend or a visit to the college. Offering both standard rooms with a king or 2 queen beds and suites we are sure to have a room to please every traveler All rooms have hairdryers, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and free high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing