We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town--not fast good!”
Review of Ruth's Place

Ruth's Place
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rocky Mount
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in town--not fast good!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Ruth's Place is my place; and they all make you feel that it is too. It's home cooking--nothing fancy. But who doesn't want to eat your Granny's food still! Yes, I love my sushi and Korean BBQ, but I still crave home. The glass of wine is okay to come upon too in this venue. Not top shelf, don't want to mislead. I love the burgers (better than my Mom's), the fish, the breakfast, and sides. My husband can't get enough wings. They know his order down pat--all of the great servers and Ruth and Rex. I like variety. Everyone knows each other, so it's like eating with friends and family. At peak dinner time and after church, be prepared for the crowds--no reservations but worth the wait in Rocky Mount. Don't tell but a certain fast food franchisee owner is here as much as I am and my family.

Helpful?
5 Thank EnlightenedPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food ! Great value !”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stop by in route back to Roanoke, all four of us had something different. Everything was great, and plenty of it. Wish I had a reason to go down 220 to eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Great Prices, Immaculately Clean”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We are very impressed and will stop whenever we are driving up to Roanoke. The place is immaculately clean. You could probably eat off of the floor. Food is good. Prices are great. Decor is cute.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had the hamburger steak and it almost covered my whole plate. The service was excellent. Our server was prompt and came over several times to refill our drinks and check on us. It didn't take long to get our food and you could tell everything was cooked fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dhodges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best home cooked meal around!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The best place in the area to get a home cooked meal for a wonderful price. A huge variety of foods on the menu and different daily specials! The staff all seem to be extremely friendly even when busy. The atmosphere is a great family place to enjoy a nice meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Panyolula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Place also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing