We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug bites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here one night in September and got over a dozen bug bites as we slept. I notified the manager, Jerry Robertson, and he promised to have a professional bed bug inspection and to provide a copy of the professional report to me. That was 3 months ago and as yet I have received no report.

We also had to tape cardboard over the bathroom vent to keep out the cigarette smoke from other rooms. The carpeting, upholstery and blankets were all dirty. But the bites were the worst part.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ermengard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry your experience wasn't satisfactory and that our response to you wasn't immediate. The room was cleared by an inspection just days after your stay. There have been no subsequent issues with the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Parking lots are dark and full of locals yelling in middle of night. Hotel is dated and needs serious work. Stepped of the elevator and the floor boards felt weak and soggy. Rest of floors creaky and old smell in halls and room. Bedding was stained and torn and old. Not enough plug ins for computer or iron. Road traffic has noise and frequent trucks using the diesel breaks. Cost far out weights the problems here at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, and we take very seriously your observations. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with clean guestrooms, a good breakfast, and professional service from our friendly staff. Feel assured that your comments have been shared with staff and have been thoroughly evaluated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a well-run hotel. Pleasant staff, clean room (king bed, 2nd floor), good bath and lots of hot water! Nice breakfast and morning local newspaper, too.

We were in the area for FERRUM COLLEGE HOMECOMING WEEKEND 2012, and this hotel is closest at 10 miles from the college.

By the way, we found a nice home-style restaurant out on the main road - Ruth's Place, 18027 Virgil H. Goode Hwy, Rocky Mount, VA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1oldseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with excellent service, clean rooms, and a great "home away from home" atmosphere. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room we were in (double room on the 1st floor) was old and outdated. It smelled of mildew. We didn't request a new room because it was a group of us and we wanted to be close to the others.
Breakfast was pretty good, though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missm922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We're sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations, but take very seriously your comments and concerns. We are looking forward to a major renovation in 2013-14 and our hope is that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel staff were great, everyone there was smiling and friendly.which made my stay even more enjoyable! Room was really large, comfortable beds,clean room,nice flat screen tv. Well kept up Hotel with rates that were reasonable. I did not use the pool or work out areas because I was only there 1 night. This is one of the best comfort inns I have ever stayed at

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you on behalf of the staff and management of our hotel. We work hard to provide each guest the quality service you received while visiting our area. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us a great response and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been staying at the comfort inn six of the seven years I have been going to the Ferrum Folklife Festival. I have had no problems while at the hotel. It is very quiet, even ever time I have gone there expect for once it was totally booked. Guests are respectful, staff extremely helpful. They will go the extra mile for you. Ippy's is an excellent place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddcassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

On behalf of the staff and management of the hotel, I'd like to thank you for your business and your kind words. We strive to provide each and every guest a great stay, clean room, and friendly service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in 1998 when it was fairly new. It was the best night's sleep I had ever had in a hotel. I talked about it for years.....FAST FORWARD 2012....In the age of technology there were only a couple of outlets in the room. 3 or 4 lamps were not plugged in, why? There weren't any outlets. To use my laptop I had to unplug either the only lamp plugged in or the microwave. The bathroom was not clean. The breakfast was adequate. The room was hot when we checked in and couldn't get it cooled down til about 3 or 4 in the morning. When I checked out and the clerk asked about the room, I told her about the tub having hair in it and she immediately adjusted the bill. I appreciated that.

Ippy's next door is an outstanding restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeptemberSong906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We're sorry that we didn't quite meet all of your expectation, but it looks like you've been coming to our area for many years, and have stayed with us before. We take your comments very seriously and look forward to a major rennovation in the near future, which should fix some of the issues you raised about your stay. We look forward to providing you service again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
15.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
147 reviews
16.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
22.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
#2 of 2 in Collinsville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Address: 1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151-6365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn - Smith Mountain Lake is a completely renovated 61-room hotel located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. We offer a hot extended continental breakfast, free- wifi throughout the hotel, a local daily newspaper, and a new fitness center and outdoor seasonal pool. We're building a gazebo for guest convenience to open in May 2017. We have free parking and lots of truck parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Hotel Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Rocky Mount, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing