We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK BUT COULD USE UPDATES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Swords Creek, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK BUT COULD USE UPDATES”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here one night while traveling for a race, the hotel was in a nice safe location, however it does need some updating. The rooms were clean but not what they should have been the room was extra large plenty of space even a brand new shower. However no one had turned the air on in the room it was around 90 degrees finally at 5am it had cooled down enough for all of us to sleep for an hour. The room did smell of the spray they use to deodrize the rooms and that just lingered where it was so hot. In the bathroom there was mold all over the walls behind the door. So updating is very much needed but no bugs or extreme flith is a good thing. I would say I would have been extremely upset had we paid $80 for the room but we stayed with points but still it should be updated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRUISERS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Recently we stayed at the Rocky Mount Comfort Inn. The hotel was filthy and infrastructure so worn, the hotel requires a total rebuild.
From the very moment we entered, the narrow front door, the unramped door sill was a challenge to navigate with the luggage cart. The carpet behind the front desk was filthy and worn.
The second floor hallway floor cracked like wooden floors in an old house. The washroom ventilator was so loud and fan so worn that the vibrations reverberated throughout the room. Once the lights were out, we could feel bugs on the bed. Silverfish were on my head. My wife almost puked at the sight of them. Although we were booked for several nights, needless to say after a horrible and sleepless night, we checked out the next morning and found more suitable accommodation.
The greatest disappointment was that Choice Hotels clearly had not inspected the hotel for adherence to standards! Problems were more associated with ownership, delinquent maintenance and infrastructure, than staff.
What a difference with the Cornelius Comfort Inn, where we stayed for 4 nights on this same trip. It was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rocky Mount hotels

Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The room smelled like there were cats living there. I about pucked when openin door.
it was terrible. The front desk sprayed some stuff but it did not help. had to leave could not stay

Room Tip: do not get 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I would not recommend this place, it was an interesting walk in- the UPS lady was sitting, reading a magazine while her truck was running outside. A local was in having a cup of coffee. Slightly run down. The worse was going to our room- the while popcorn ceiling stuff was all over the top of the microwave. There were a lot of dead bugs in the window and on the floor. (there was a notice at the front desk about being inundated with stink bugs) and the beds looked rumpled. We Did go speak with the front desk, and the front desk clerk brought us up to another room, and it had a totally different look. Nothing wrong with this one.
But first impressions last longer, so I would by pass this one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WKGsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor for the Comfort Inn in Rocky Mount, VA. I want to extend my sincere apology for the substandard condition of your room. Our consistent goals of cleanliness and friendly service require diligent attention and feedback from our guests. I assure you we have taken measures to prevent these incidents from happening in the future. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our high standards of cleanliness and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Comfortable beds with 4 great pillows and a real blanket (not plastic). Bathroom was clean and everything worked. Staff was friendly and efficient. Grounds were shady and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was exceptionally quiet, with a friendly staff and attractive surroundings. We liked being able to open the window for fresh mountain air.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We appreciate the kind words of our guests. We pride ourselves on being a friendly, clean, and quiet "home away from home" to our guests. We hope they visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I probably would have rated this hotel a 3.5 if it was possible.

The hotel is fairly old and in a few places, starting to show some aches and pains.

The room was clean, nice size, bed comfortable, good shower and had a very good restaurant separate but on the property.

Check in and out as well as any questions well handled.

Included breakfast - ho hum, but not bad

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, December 15, 2009
Thank you for your recent comment posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your candid comments as we pride ourselves on clean rooms and friendly service.
We hope you will consider us again when your travels bring you back to the Rocky Mount area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Mount
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
16.8 mi away
No photo provided
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
119 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Property: Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Address: 1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151-6365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn - Smith Mountain Lake is a completely renovated 61-room hotel located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. We offer a hot extended continental breakfast, free- wifi throughout the hotel, a local daily newspaper, and a new fitness center and outdoor seasonal pool. We're building a gazebo for guest convenience to open in May 2017. We have free parking and lots of truck parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Hotel Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Rocky Mount, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing