We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Match Made in Heaven: Catfish Matrimony”

Hollywood's Restaurant & Bkry
Ranked #2 of 470 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
“A Match Made in Heaven: Catfish Matrimony”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After several visits to Hollywood's Restaurant, it's clear this eatery has claimed a place in my Top Ten Favorite Restaurants in the US. Hands down, their Catfish Matrimony is my favorite dish, followed closely by their Grilled Balsamic Beef Medallions and their Smokin Bones baby back ribs. If you love creole food, this is a very good choice!

The staff is friendly and the menu selection is impressive. And here's a note to those planning a visit: go early! The word is out and this place is getting VERY popular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    254
    64
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprising Quality and Excellent Service”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were referred to this restaurant by the hotel staff, and had not had success in the past with hotel recommendations, but this was a pleasant surprise. One of us had medallions of beef: too many onions and too few portabella mushooorms, but otherwise very good; and the other shrimp creole. just spicy enough and excellent taste. Beer and wine selection were very good. Service was excellent and the owner stopped by every table to check on each diner. We'd stop by here again if in the area. They also have a bakery and the offerings,escpecially the frosted brownies and homemade cakes, looked terrific!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a great surprise”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

a cross between a family restaurant/a steak house/ a vegan extravaganza/ then throw in the bakery part ... outstanding!!
VERY nice people as well....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food off 81 Hollins College”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Salad, bread and everything is very good.
Crab cakes grouper were great
And coconut cake.
Very convenient right off 81

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good southern food & hospitality”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were driving across our fine country & stopped in Roanoke, VA.
We always ask for local places to eat & the front desk at our hotel recommended Hollywoods.
The food was excellent! The shrimp & grits were amazing with a different twist from the traditional southern recipe.
We jokingly asked for the recipe & a few minutes later the owner sat with us asked where we were from & where we were going from gave us some tips for our trip the next day & indeed gave us the recipe for the shrimp & grits.
Being from California we really appreciated the southern hospitality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood's Restaurant & Bkry also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood's Restaurant & Bkry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing