We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Secret” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of On The Rise Bread Co

On The Rise Bread Co
Ranked #79 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Why have I never tried this place before? It was delicious! I ordered a turkey, brie and apple panini on fresh Italian bread and a pecan bar for a total of about $12. The sandwich was amazing. Such a great combination of flavors. The pecan bar was pretty good as well, although the sandwich was so filling I couldn't eat the whole dessert. You can also get cold sandwiches, pizza, bread, other pastries and drinks. If in downtown Roanoke, I would highly recommend stopping by On The Rise Bread Company, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I really hate to share this secret, because I'd rather keep it as a secret - BUT - it's WAY too good to keep to myself. On Saturday mornings we visit the Roanoke City Market for vegetables, bread, etc. One of the most fabulous finds there has been the On the Rise Breakfast Pizza. Sounds odd I know - but it's FanTasTic!!! Some with sausage and eggs, some with veggies and eggs - but all Excellent. They only do a few and then they're gone. Their other pizzas are really good too - but the Breakfast Pizza's are SO GREAT!!! Not sure if they do this on weekdays - but if you're there on Saturday morning - we will be fighting you for a place in line. (The Savory Scones are also REALLY good.) Sweet stuff and regular breads are all delicious too - but these are our real favs. You can eat it here - they'll heat it for you. Or - like us - you can get it to go and enjoy it for two days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Omg, eat here if you are in Roanoke!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Amazing paninis and soups! We tried 3 different types of each and couldn't get enough. Veggie, turkey and Brie, and the roast beef paninis. Carrot and ginger, tomato and cheddar, and their shrimp and rice soups were all amazing. Loved the atmosphere as well!! I can't believe how inexpensive it was. Go on the weekends so you can shop the farmers market right outside their door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravels3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We walked several blocks looking for a "healthy" lunch. It seems many places are hamburgers and barbeque joints. This was delicious lunch place that offered homemade chicken salad, soups, and delicious salads and sandwiches on the menu. We entered a full restaurant and it is full with local business people on lunch break. ( a good sign). Would definitely dine here again while in Roanoke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh fresh fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Great local veggies, interesting panini, and speedy service. Good choice for Saturday lunch if you're exploring historic downtown. Turkey, apple, Brie sandwich got high marks from a picky eater in my group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fewlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rise Bread Co also viewed

 

Been to On The Rise Bread Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing