We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the typical Mexican restaurant.”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #21 of 478 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not the typical Mexican restaurant.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Abuelo's is not your local typical Mexican restaurant, which we all know and love. However, when you want a slight variation on the typical Mexican, Abuelo's is a good place to head. While it is slightly more expensive than other Mexican restaurants, they provide more of a up-scale look and taste with their food. Recently their menu was refreshed allowing me to give the restaurant another chance. I recently tried the enchiladas, which come in many flavors and combination choices. I also tried the cilantro rice; both of which were excellent. If they served the white salsa for chips, I am sure I would frequent the restaurant more often. The restaurant has a very nice overall atmosphere with fast seating, service and décor. Check it out for yourself when visiting the Valley View Mall area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    33
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican restaurant in Roanoke!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I gave up on Mexican restaurants in Roanoke because the food always tasted the same,usually with cold beans and rice served with every dish and heavy lard tasting chips.. That was until I ate at Abuelo's! You are immediately greeted with the lightest, delicious chips and salsa. They have a great tapas menu, we love sitting in the bar area. We've tried them all and none have the unique menu and flavorful dishes that Abuelo's has.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Try the coronarita!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pappas are fabulous and so are the enchiladas (my favorite are the spinach ones) start off with a coronarita & the dip trio. Delicious and a great summer place with outdoor seating!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kuntriqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Average At Best”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second visit for dinner. We had high expectations both visits, but only found the food to be average. My burrito was well sized, but lacked any real distinctive spice flavors; likewise for the accompanying beans and rice. My wife's taco salad was tasty enough, but nothing special. We have no complaints, but can offer no accolades either. Maybe we have become too accustomed to the Mexican foods served at Alejandro's Mexican Grill; we favor the downtown location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great salsa”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Okay, it's a chain restaurant, but it's a good one! We could make a meal on the trio of salsas and the endless bowl of chips but never do...enjoy everything we've gotten here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank notsogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing