We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Dining”
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 476 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell/Salem
Transit: Adjacent to City Bus Station and Smart Bus from VA Tech, Blacksburg & New River Valley
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a local, I would highly recommend this restaurant, for visitors traveling through the area of downtown, Roanoke, Virginia. This restaurant is one to remember for years to come, with the flavor, quality and presentation of the food. The ambience, and the service was exquisite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    30
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The food was delicious and the service was exquisite. Wonderful dinner while on a brief break with my wife.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tfitz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect dinner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great service and food with excellent atmosphere
Great menu selection, we really enjoyed our meal. Although we should have ordered the lunch size desert to share - ours was a little too much
Perfect night dinning on wonderful food in a friendly atmosphere
We didn't book and was lucky because we went early, book ahead to be sure of a table

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The search for the best lamb chops”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love lamb when it is prepared correctly, and I usually order it when I'm traveling and going to nice restaurants. The best lamb EVER is at Alexander's in Roanoke, VA! The entire restaurant menu is palette-pleasing on every count, the ambience is perfect, and the staff gets a 5-star rating plus. The menu combines a mixture of old and new guaranteed to persuade any skeptic. The appetizers are always a taste delight. Kudos to my favorite restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I chose Alexander's to celebrate her birthday and as always, we were not disappointed. The service was impeccable, the food outstanding, the atmosphere romantic, the little touches were very much welcomed, all in all an extraordinary evening for a special occasion.
We've made Alexander's our destination for any reason to celebrate no matter what the occasion.
We will return, sooner than later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rotowillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing