We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great staff”
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 470 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell/Salem
Transit: Adjacent to City Bus Station and Smart Bus from VA Tech, Blacksburg & New River Valley
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and great staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food here was absolutely wonderful and the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We arrived a little early and there was no problem getting us a table. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and helping us with a wine selection. Our dinner at Alexander's was a wonderful experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbmeagher, Owner at Alexander's, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Many thanks to you and all reviewers for your positive feedback. Our goal at Alexander's is to provide top quality cuisine and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
801 reviews
530 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Still wonderful”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our third visit to Alexanders over four years. We don't live nearby, and we can only go when we are close for another reason. This time, we drove 100 miles out of our way to stay in Roanoke and eat here. We've never had anything other than first class service and food. Each visit is at the same high level. It's not cheap, but it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw4
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed overnight in Roanoke as we traveled down the Blue Ridge Parkway. We decided to try Alexander's and were not disappointed. It has superior food and service. It was quiet enough for conversation. Our waiter was most helpful. We dine in a lot of Chicago restaurants and few would beat the dinner we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, consistent special dinner place.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Dined there Saturday night with friends. Food was great, wine list adequate, service pretty good. Overall, a very solid place with few surprises for a special dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke,VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good as always”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Never a bad meal. The service and the meal is always what you would expect from them. It should be rated at least a 4 star. The dessert cart always has a lot of great choices

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank VAMomto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing