We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location; Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location; Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a good value close to the Roanoke airport for a quick overnight trip. What I got was nicely appointed clean room, comfortable bed, some friendly staff at a great price. Although we did not eat close by; there were many places to choose and an indoor mall right next door. There was a Walmart on the other side of the Mall that allowed me to top off the tank before returning the rental the next morning. Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allaboutthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks so much for your review.
I am pleased your quick stopover was enjoyable and we fit the need for a comfortable night's rest before heading to the airport. Hopefully next time you visit the Roanoke Valley, you will find time to explore some of the outdoors and culture events of the region.
Thanks for staying with us!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    269
    97
    30
    23
See reviews for
311
303
79
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Whenever we had a need, they provided fast service and were always courteous and polite. This Best Western staff provided top notch service.

The rooms are very comfortable and we were able to get plenty of rest.

We also loved the location as it is centrally located and very close to the mall and several restaurants.

Overall, it is a great value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your review.
I am pleased your stay was comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. We pride ourselves in making our guests feel at home.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

There are some pros and cons to this hotel as there are to any.

I'll start with the pros:
It was spacious enough for our family of 5. It looks to have been recently updated. Decor and paint look very nice. It had a reclining chair and ottoman along with a desk. It also had a storage chest and entertainment center which also housed a mini fridge and microwave. Hotel was close to many restaurants and shops (walmart, target, mall). Provides free breakfast.

Cons:
This hotel is not right off I81. But is only about 5 miles away. The beds were a little uncomfortable for my liking. They were not pillowtop and was too firm. So I didn't sleep well for that reason and people slamming their doors. The bed size was full instead of queen. There were ants all over the stuff we had put on the table between the beds.

Staff was very friendly and talkative. There was a pool right across from the lobby. We didn't utilize this amenity but it was weird to be there enclosed with glass to inside and outside. Breakfast was decent. You have to go to 3rd floor and it's from 6-10am. Which is nice to sleep a bit. They had a waffle maker, sausage links, home fries with peppers and sausage, breakfast burritos, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, muffins, bagels.. Orange juice tasted awful. Not sure what brand container it was. Overall, it was a good stay for the money we spent. Booked through online for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your candid remarks about your stay and our hotel. We are in the process of remodeling and enlarging our breakfast area just off the front lobby to better serve our guests. Our breakfast is temporarily being served in the meeting room on the 3rd floor. We are also adding an exercise facility and guest laundry.
I hope you will visit us again to enjoy our new upgrades.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late on our way to Washington DC we decided to get some rest before continuing on. Valerie up front was not real friendly to start the stay. The rooms are not that bad as compared to other Best Westerns we have stayed at. My wife went to use the bathroom and let out a scream, I rushed in to see a roach(I know it was a roach because I worked in pest control some time ago). I choose this hotel for all the positive feedback it received and was surprised I found this. I was extremely tied and begged her to just ignore it and get some rest. She tossed all night getting no sleep and to top it off the fiddled with my door first thing in the morning and woke my daughter. Something about a faulty lock. They couldn't have waited until I checked out? So I couldn't talk my family into eating breakfast do to the roaches, they hurried me out after the disturbance and vowed never to sleep at a Best Western again no matter how sleepy we are.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icetheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I've very sorry your stay was not enjoyable and relaxing. I can understand the effect seeing a roach had on your family. I can assure you we do everything possible to prevent any kind of pest from being in our hotel, but as you may know from being a home owner, it is not always possible. Especially when we have many other guests visiting us on a daily basis.
I would have loved the opportunity to move you to another room so you could have rested peacefully. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show our true hospitality.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

When in Roanoke, this is where you must stay! Beautiful room, very comfortable beds, great choice of nearby restaurants. Excellent value! Traveling from NY to Texas, this was definitely the best hotel, and the cheapest hotel, on our route.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments! I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. Please visit us again as you travel through the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel was a bit tricky to find, but well worth it once we arrived. Our room was clean, the pool great and breakfast was good. There was some sort of maintenance going on in the morning and when I called the front desk they took care of the problem right away. The staff at this hotel is what makes it outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm sorry you were disturbed by noise. We are in the process of making some upgrades, such as a new and enlarged breakfast area, a new exercise facility and a new guest laundry. We try to make sure no work is done during times that would affect our guests, but if it does, we will take prompt action to have it stopped.
Please visit us again soon to enjoy our new upgrades.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice rooms, fair prices, nice staff, as good as anywhere else you can stay unless you are able to stay at a high end location. I can't afford those places so I can't really say what difference in money equals in comfort. A room is just a place to sleep and if it is cool/warm and clean and comfortable what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for your comments concerning your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering a product that is quite comparable most of our other local hotels, yet is a much better price value. I am pleased you relax this as well and continue to stay with us.
We all look forward to seeing you again and being able to offer you a clean room and friendly service.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing