We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always come back because it is just right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We always come back because it is just right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We come to Roanoke twice yearly and always stay at the Best Western Plus Valley View, because it is so clean and comfortable and everyone is super nice!. Love that they have a pool and breakfast, papers and PC in the lobby, but we didn't use them. It is right on the ring road to Valley View Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LindaW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. It is nice to have you as a repeat guest. I am glad you enjoy your visits with us. I hope you noticed the improvements we are working on over the winter months. We are enlarging our breakfast room and adding an exercise facility. Hopefully when you return again, we will have those complete for you to enjoy.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    268
    95
    27
    23
See reviews for
308
302
77
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My colleagues and I stayed at the Best Western Plus during a business trip and were very pleased with the accommodations. The friendliness and professionalism of the front desk staff made our experience even more enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with updated décor. The location allows for easy access to the airport, the interstate, shopping malls, restaurants and many businesses. Even though the hotel is close to the airport, we never heard an airplane after 9:00 pm. The hotel must be well insulated as well. We enjoyed a quiet night's rest and delicious breakfast in the lobby the next morning.

Room Tip: If you prefer a large bed, request a room with a king bed. The beds in the double rooms seemed a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. We do have a great location with easy access to the interstate, shopping, airport, and the rest of the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
I hope you and your business associates will return soon.
Thanks for staying with us!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the best western Plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed, and recliner. Great selection for breakfast and very good. I don’t stay in many hotels but this was one was by far the best ever. You felt welcomed as the staff always greeted you as you entered and would make conversation with you! Great experience and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments.
I am pleased your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I will pass along your kind words to the entire staff.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I want to start by saying that the gentleman taking care of the breakfast area this morning was the best I have seen in a few years. Refilling coffee cups, keeping everything stocked, very nice and polite and ready to help make sure you can find anything you need.
The selection at breakfast was pretty good, with scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy and some breakfast burritos as well. Then of course all of the normal continental stuff such as waffles, cereal, breads and condiments. The breakfast area is very small and really only seats about 8 or 10 people. They did accommodate our group the day before by setting up breakfast in a meeting room on a different floor.
The room was nice with flat screen tv and the lounge chair is very comfortable. I fell asleep in it every time I sat down. My door lock was not quite working correctly so I always had to play with the key to get it to work, and one of the keys never did work on the room.
The front doors are broken and won't shut so the lobby entry was very cold. They had signs on them and signs that some maintenance had been done, but in the two nights I didn't see anyone actually doing any work. Hopefully they are getting the repairs done.
The pool is an indoor pool but very small.
This hotel would rank higher for me if in fact I would have either seen the maintenance being done. Until then the best I would have given them was an average.

Room Tip: They sent us to the fitness center at Comfort Inn next door. I guess they are co-owned?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrug10042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments concerning your recent visit. I am pleased your room was clean and comfortable. Those chairs do tend to make you fall asleep. They are like sitting on air!
We are in the process of enlarging our breakfast area and creating an exercise facility. Those projects will be completed over the winter months.
The lobby doors are indeed broken and unfortunately, not repairable. New doors have been ordered but will take about 5-6 weeks to be manufactured and installed. Our new doors will be a bi-fold type that will give our guests more room to enter and exit.
Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good price for Roanoke area. Very nice staff. Decent room. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast selection. Especially enjoyed the breakfast burrito. My only complaint is that the breakfast area is too small. Heated pool adjacent to the lobby....helpful if one has kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent visit. I am pleased your stay pleasant and you enjoyed our breakfast bar selections.
Our breakfast room is going to be enlarged over the winter months and expanded to allow our guests more room to enjoy an appetizing start to the day. Please come back soon to see our addition.
Thanks for staying with us!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice last week on our way to and from Tennessee from Pennsylvania. The main reason we picked this was that they allowed dogs, and finding a place to stay when traveling with our yellow lab is very difficult. We found the Best Western Plus to be very nice, great indoor pool, clean, and the rooms were nice sized and well furnished, and it was surprisingly quiet even with a highway nearby. The staff were extremely friendly which we appreciated. The only negatives I can think of were the heater fan was a little noisy, and when using a GPS it is a little difficult to find. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet ask for a room near the rear door. There's a convenient trash can on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again. We appreciate your visits as you travel I-81.
I am pleased both of your stays were enjoyable and your lab felt at home as well. A clean and comfortable room always makes a long drive much more tolerable.
GPS directions can be a little tricky with the way the mall roads are laid out, but give us a call at the hotel (540-362-2400) and we will be happy to give precise directions.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a much needed "ME" weekend. Took my sewing machine and knitting needles and NOOK. Enjoyed a dip in the pool! Great stay. Enjoyed a great breakfast before I set out for a little shopping. I felt very secure when returning to the hotel after dark.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Deborah C,
Thanks for your review. I'm sure it felt good to get away and have a little "me" time. I hope the crowd at the mall didn't run you over. Looks like folks are already starting their Christmas shopping. The mall has been quite busy lately.
Please join us again for some relaxation and shopping.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing