We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good/Not So Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good/Not So Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here twice - once at the beginning of our trip and once at the end. First time was quite nice - once you FIND the place. I called 5 times on the road for directions after riding around and around and after they transferred me to the operator, the recording started all over again. They could at least mention that they are busy and put me on hold. Annoying. But the room was nice - quiet - even though vey busy. Breakfast was okay. Enjoyed the blueberry bagels. Now, about the second stay...very quiet - hardly anyone there it seemed. When we opened the door to our room, the very strong smell of mildew hit us. The girl at the desk was very accommodating and put us in another room which still had a mildew smell, but not as bad. We decided to stay in that room because we had just traveled 7 hours and we were tired. The bath was evidently SUPPOSE to be for disabled - how they got the bath chair in the tub was beyond me. Anyway, we didn't need it. There was no exhaust fan which may have helped the mildew smell. Other than that, it was okay. Did like the new "clean technology" used for the remote control. First time we had encountered that and studies show the remote control collects the most amount of surface bacteria in a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinmountpleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for telling us about both of your experiences at our hotel. First of all let me apologize for the second visit. We never want any guest to feel like they have to settle for any room that they are put in. I am very happy that the desk clerk was able to get you a second room.
We do have the clean remotes in every single room. They are much easier to keep clean so that our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable stay

Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    277
    106
    33
    26
See reviews for
326
316
82
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
parsons, wv, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed here on our visit to martinsville speedway which is about 1 hr 15 mins away. the motel is right next to valley view mall of roanoke. many good restaurants there also. BWW, TGI Fridays. Nearby walmart, target

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We love our NASCAR friends. Even though we only get to see you guys a couple times a year, it is always a BLAST when you come through. We do have over 32 restaurants within a mile radius of us with something for everyone. Being located next to the mall helps especially when the weather has been like it has been lately with the ups and downs and unexpected.

Make sure next time you are in town that you stop by and see us again!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Exceptional! Cordial/cheerful check-in/out staff, breakfast and staff was great and clean. Room was VERY comfortable, VERY clean ... rates among best hotels I've stayed in over several years, business and pleasure. Keep it up Bobby C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Bobby C

Sounds like we scored several "touchdowns" during your visit. I greatly appreciate your review of our hotel and staff during your stay. We pride ourselves on being the best in the business and it sounds like this time we did exactly that. Come back and see us soon!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

most of the TV channels did not work, coffee pot was not cleaned for 2nd day, no wash cloths the first day, breakfast room has 3 tables, very crowded,
room was nice size with a recliner chair, everything else was okay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kderren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Oh no! It sounds like this time we COMPLETELY missed the mark. I am sorry that your experience with us was bad. Please email me at bwplustim@live.com so that I may rectify the situation!
We never want ANY guest to leave our hotel unsatisfied for any reason.

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pleasant stay, cats allowed, unlike the Hyatt. Outside door would not close enough to prohibit unwanted entry, easily repaired. Breakfast area was too small, but serviceable. They had biscuits with sausage gravy, and oatmeal nut no grits. No thermostat in the room, controls at the heater. We did not want to turn on the heater on arrival, but room too cold in AM. Didn't want then to turn on the lights and wake up wife. Don't want that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank docwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your most honest review. We are in the process of installing thermostats on the walls in the rooms. As you know this takes a little bit of time and being that we stay busy 85% of the time, the rooms we need to get into are the ones always occupied (mostly our designated pet rooms). Yes we do allow pets!!! Please call the hotel for specifics on our Pet Policy.

As for the door, we already have our maintenance guy on top of that. Definitely not something we want slipping by us. Thanks for letting us know


Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Because of proximity to family the Ramada was suggested to us. It was a TERRIBLE hotel! We got in late, so we stayed with no heat one night. Called Best Western told them our problem and they were so nice and helpful and because of our situation we were allowed to check in early. Everything was clean, staff VERY friendly, very close to mall and dining. Only negative would be the breakfast. Hot items cold. Not a big selection, however, beverages available all hours. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Oh no, sounds like you started your trip in Roanoke off not great. I am glad that we could help you out and that we could accommodate you. I do apologize for the breakfast. The thing we hear time and time again is about the size of our breakfast area. I hope that with our new renovation that is planned for this fall, that we can reconfigure that area to make it more customer friendly as that is what we here at Best Western pride ourselves on is giving GREAT customer service



Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
Best Western PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Most important to travelling is a clean, safe, friendly hotel! The breakfast was very good also. Maintenance was being done on the hotel, so a little noisy - but must be done sometimes, so didn't bother us much - quiet during night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you friend for your great review. We are adding a fitness center and guest laundry service as well as looking into the future to expand our tiny breakfast area - better known to us on the property level as the headache area (insert laughter here).
We pride ourselves on being clean and we do appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come back to see us again

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
Best Western PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing