We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way home from a long road-trip vacation.
When I think of Best Western, I don't really think of a super hotel, but this wasn't bad at all.
When we arrived, no one was at the front desk. We waited a while but since no one came around, we called and the guy was carrying the phone. He was upstairs helping out with an issue someone was having. If this happens to you, just call the number!
We noticed that the pool is right in the front of the hotel with windows ALL around facing inside and out. For this reason, we did not use the pool. It was sort of awkward. I don't understand why the entire wall is a window facing inside the entrance of the hotel.
We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast so I cannot comment on that.
Our room was nice and comfortable. We also noticed that the windows are very sound-proof. Our room was next to the highway and I'm pretty sure there was an airport nearby, if I remember correctly, and we couldn't hear anything!
I really have no complaints here. The hotel was in a good area with lots of things around. Of course, we got here later on a Sunday so the mall (right down the road) was closed already. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from too!
I would stay here again if needed and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    296
    111
    36
    29
See reviews for
348
333
90
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham,Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I liked the friendly manner of the front desk staff when we checked in, making us feel right at home after a long drive, and I loved how beautiful our room was! The decor was several steps above any other chain hotel I'd been in, from the beautiful bedding to the luxurious "relaxing" chair to the spacious furniture piece (not sure what to call it) with the TV on top of it, large drawers for guests' clothing, and a microwave and small fridge, out of sight but very convenient! I also appreciated having plenty of coat hangers -- that's not always the case.

Full marks also for a well-chosen desk, desk light, and comfortable desk chair -- all essential to those of us who like to stay online when we travel. The bathroom was attractive, the toiletries a definite step up from the usual, and the rubber ducky made me smile!

Our only complaint -- and it was not the hotel's fault -- was that there was a large truck carrying refrigerated goods in the parking lot that our window faced, and the refrigeration unit ran off and on, loudly, through the night. We didn't notice this until we were back from dinner and about to go to bed, and were too tired to even think of asking for a room change, but we did mention it when we checked out the next morning. The front desk person apologized for the disturbance and said steps would be taken to be sure that it didn't happen again.

Bottom line, we enjoyed our overnight here before flying home the next morning -- and you can't find a better location than this for a VERY quick drive to the airport -- and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodLoverNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stay at the Roanoke Best Western Frequently for business (about once a month). They always take care of whatever I need! Their management staff really wants every customer's stay to be a great one and they go above and beyond the call of duty. My room is also always clean when I get there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Roanoke. You also get discounts at nearby restaurants when you show your room card, another bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Lala! I wish I knew who you were to thank you in person for the great review!

The thing I really want to convey to people trying to decide what hotel to stay at is, we really do care about our guests. Your comfort is our first priority. Of course we are a business and want to make money but we're in the business of caring for people and we really do care.

Thank you again for your comments lalaflowers...whoever you may be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a new property among a group of hotels at Valley View Mall, right off I-581. Check in was friendly and right away Jackie helped with a couple of minor glitches. First the vending machine hung up my purchase, she came right away and refunded my money so, I tried again and this time got my purchase. Then my room wouldn't open although the key card worked. Back to reception and Jackie came and got it open (memo to maintenance, it is balky and needs work). Rooms are clean. As a new property they seem to have taken cues from Hampton Inn for furniture, Holiday Inn Express for bedding. Bathroom has generous toiletries and towels. For those concerned about germs, the TV remote is a Clean Remote which supposedly reduces infections from such objects by 99%. Breakfast is nothing special.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the parking lot and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitingfrominstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello friend from Powhatan! Actually our hotel is around 17 years old but we try very hard every day to keep it looking fresh and new.

Kudos to Jackie for helping you with the issues that arose. She's one of the many caring associates that we have here and she LOVES seeing her name on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband & I travel extensively, and this hotel is one of the best that we have ever stayed, even comparing it to some of the top hotel chains in the country. The room was quiet, comfortable, and recently updated. The morning breakfast was delicious and had something for everyone. And the hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, especially Jackie and Timothy, who always greeted us with a smile. The best surprise was finding the rubber ducky in our bathroom when we checked in. We knew as soon as we arrived that we were at a top-notch property. I highly recommend this hotel in the area. It can't be beat!

Room Tip: Room temperature was perfect and bedding was extra comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCBridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Five Stars! Wow! What a compliment! I surely appreciate the review that you've given us. There are so many great hotels in Roanoke, and we're very proud that we're one of them. Please come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The handicapped room was at the far end of the hotel, where there were no reserved parking spaces. Very popular end of the carpark to get access though the side door
My reservation said that it included a full breakfast. The hotel information said that it was a deluxe continetal breakfast. The truth was nowhere near either. Waffle mix, wrapped muffins (how old?) and a choice of cold cereal.
The price was low and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Timtim,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. Not all reviews can be "lollipops and rainbows", (but I sure do love lollipops and rainbows).

Yes, we do have two of our ADA accessible rooms on the back end of our first floor. They are right near the back door where there is usually plenty of parking. I'm sorry you had difficulty finding a convenient space. That end of the building is normally quiet. A quick call to the front desk to ask "what else do you have" usually results in finding a compatible location for our guests...but not always.

We do wrap our pastries and baked goods...and here is why: They come to us already baked. (I wish I could say that we were in the kitchen at 4:00 am making fresh biscuits like Hardee's...but we're not). These baked goodies come in "flats" with a dozen sealed in one package. We used to just put them straight into the serving case, but our guests were telling us that they were a bit dry...so I decided to start wrapping them for freshness. We wrap these every day. So, how old? I guess you could say "As old as today's weather".

You didn't mention the rest of our menu...so I'd like to do that here. You have a choice of the following (or you could eat one of each...your choice): ham and cheese omelets, egg patties, burritos, hash browns, sausage links, sausage patties, biscuits, sausage gravy, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh bananas, apples and grapefruit cups, toast (wheat and white), bagels (three flavors), danishes, cinnamon rolls, blueberry crumbcake, oatmeal, grits, cold cereals (six varieties), whole milk, 2% milk, yogurts (variety flavors), coffee, tea, orange and apple juice!

I'd also like to add that if you are coming in again soon...email me what you would like to have for breakfast and I'll do everything I can to make that happen. My email is: teamlori@yahoo.com.

Please know that you're NOT going to get the Hotel Roanoke's $15 brunch menu...but our food is good, hot and filling. Yes, you really do get what you pay for! I'm proud of that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Junction VT
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a busy hotel - and could have been noisy and unpleasant - I was nervous getting a first floor room during my 7 day stay (plus, the room was close to the elevator and the ice machine - YIKES) - I was very pleasantly surprised that my stay was very quiet, the staff was religiously courteous and helpful, the environment was spotless. A special shout out to Tina T. and a superior housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Christina! It's oh...so kind of you to say such nice things about us!! We really love our jobs and taking care to make sure you are happy comes natural to us. I will say though that if you EVER get a room that you aren't happy with, or are nervous about the location, simply tell us. We want you to be completely comfortable with your surroundings (even if it means moving to another hotel...if that hotel would meet your needs better).

Also, Tina is one of our many shining stars and she'll be giddy to see her name on Tripadvisor! (yes...I said giddy) ;-)

Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
517 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View

Property: Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing