We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Accomodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accomodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our first stay here was summer 2011. We were so pleased with the cleanilness of our pet room we returned this past June. A year has gone by and they still maintain a clean, odorless pet room! We are returning again in September. Can't say enough good things about the well maintained hotel - inside and out. Staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    269
    99
    32
    23
See reviews for
315
307
79
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blfd
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel has nice rooms, we had a suite with a wonderful recliner....that was the best piece of furniture.
The hotel breakfast is nice, too.
However, what makes this hotel some place I would visit again is the customer service! Hotel staff like Kristen who works the breakfast as well as the front desk manager were awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dturtle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Hotel Valley View Roanoke for 16 nights so that must say it all!
The reception staff, especially Chris, are all very helpful, nothing is too much trouble, whether you ask about directions, opinions about where to eat, knowledge about the area.
The house keeping ladies are all very happy and we had clean white good quality towels changed every day, together with the bathroom toiletries.
The ice machines on each floor were easy to use and the snack machines were kept full.
The breakfast gave a variety of choice, hot food,- sausage, sausage patties, eggs, ommelettes etc. There are bagels, muffins, bread, several types of cereal, including instant porrage oats. Grits, biscuits and gravy ( the typical American Breakfast) waffels maple syrup, jams peanut butter etc. Fresh fruit, apple juice, fresh orange juice, several types of tea and coffee. The Management even bought us a jar of English marmalade, --going the extra mile to ensure we felt 'at home' at breakfast time.
Kristen looked after us so well, she is a credit to the hotel, always ensuring we had everything we needed. She was always happy and nothing was too much trouble to ensure her guests were happy.
The swimming pool area was always clean and tidy. The guest computer is fast and easy to use and a printer is provided for use.
The Hotel is in a convenient position, just off the main road, and close to the shops and many restuarants.
Our thanks go to Laurie, her staff are all happy and this gives the hotel a happy and relaxed ambience for the guests. We travel a lot and have never seen a hotel where all the staff are so happy and helpful.
We arrived back to the U.K this morning and are already missing ya'all!!
Hope to see you again later this year. Thankyou to everyone and anybody thinking whether to stay at the best Western Hotel, you will not be dissapointed. David and Di Ipswich Suffolk U.K

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 463Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The BW Plus in Roanoke has the most wonderful staff...all around! From Julia in the breakfast room( you feel like you are the only person in the hotel when she talks to you!! SO very attentive!) to Tim, Chris, and Tina at the front desk, to Carolina( one of the housekeepers) !!! Really one of the best places we have ever stayed. The breakfast is much more than you would expect..and even has a WAFFLE MAKER!! The rooms are clean, well stocked, and well taken care of. The location is unbeatable!! I am local, but we had a big power outage, so my wife Julee and I decided to grab the dog and move in here! The AC works amazingly, the pet rooms are wonderful and convenient to the exit door, and we just couldn't ask for more. This hotel has been completely full and I have seen nothing but respect and compassion from the staff to me and many others here. I have no qualms saying that this is, undoubtedly, the BEST place to stay in Roanoke!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Recently, I had the enjoyable experience of staying at the Best Western in Roanoke, VA, at the Valley View location. The staff was excellent, in that, they always had a smile and they were always friendly. The rooms were clean and our pets were welcome.

In addition, another staff member stood out. Her name was Kristen. Each morning she set up the continental breakfast as well as helped at the front desk. I always could count on her cheerful personality and sense of humor to start my day on a positive note.

I would like to thank Best Western for a wonderful stay and will recommend it to all.

Sincerely,

Robert Ellison (Canada)

PS please send more ducks. ;-)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is located off I-81, very convenient location because there is a shopping mall and a walmart nearby. Called while driving and Chris at the front desk was very welcoming and gave us a good rate since we booked two rooms. The rooms were very nice. The lady that worked the night shift ( Val ) was very hospitable and gave us extra towels. Indoor pool. Good breakfast, the lady preparing it ( Kristin ) did a nice job. Overall a very nice hotel with a wonderful staff, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALTX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was my second visit back. Last visit was a few years ago when I rated it as average. Since then, nothing has changed. Spent two nights. Staff was very friendly. Hotel kinda tucked in the back behind (next to the Hyatt) near the mall. Lots of stores and restaurants around plus a movie theater. Good location. Room was standard with free wi-fi. Overall the room was clean, but the carpets really need a cleaning (my white socks turned dark brown after just a few minutes of walking on it). Pillows were lumpy. Had a mini frig. Typical continental breakfast in a very small room with limited seating area. Upon check out, noticed they charged $1.50 for the room safe. I didn't use the safe and had the charge removed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Goodenough, Thanks so much for leaving a review. I feel bad that your socks were dirty after walking on our carpet. We have all of our carpets cleaned professionally on a regular basis and if we see any spots, we clean them immediately. I don't walk in my socks....but I'm thinking that maybe I should from now on. :)

A note about the safe charges....we do charge $1.50 safe fee....in other words...there is a safe in your room and we charge our guests to use it. But instead of hiding the charge in the room rate like many hotels do, we itemize your bill to separate that charge..soyou can see it and make the choice to have it removed or not. So now you know, we're not trying to be underhanded and steal $1.50 out of your pocket...We're not like that. We simply charge for the safe if you use it and gladly remove the fee if you don't....simple as that! Whew! Glad that's cleared up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing