We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful new hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, TN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful new hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Clean new hotel next near airport but never heard planes in our room. Staff very nice. Only negative is TV. Must have frequent problems as troubleshooting issues were in the room. Would come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We are glad you like our "Wonderful NEW hotel". We actually opened in October of 2007 but work hard everyday to keep the property like new for our guests. I am happy to report that the TV's issues you had have all been replaced with new LCD TV's with HD service coming in the near future. We work hard to make sure our guests want to come back and glad you want to do so. Please tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    54
    21
    2
    8
See reviews for
57
33
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Great Free State of Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here in April for a family wedding. I have always been a fan of the Residence Inn brand, but this one is definitely best-in-breed. All common facilities were spotless, manager and breakfast staff were super-friendly and helpful upon arrival, room setup was fantastic. This is a newer Residence Inn and the decor is upgraded and the appliances very new - and really, this is excellent value for money here.

Though I stay at all levels of Marriotts, I love the Residence Inn brand just as much as I love the Ritz-Carlton, though for different reasons - and this is about as good as the Residence Inn gets. Will definitely stay here again if/when travels take me to Roanoke.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
WOW, and thank you so much for the GREAT COMMENTS. We like to feel we are a "superb choice" and "best of the Residence Inn's" too! Our staff pride themselves on being "super friendly" and work hard everyday to make our property "spotless". We look forward to a return visit and hope that you will tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stay in Marriott properties. A lot. My husband is a Platinum Rewards member. When we decided to spend two weeks in Roanoke over the holidays, the Residence Inn was an obvious choice. We reserved a one bedroom suite with a fireplace.

Pros: Friendly, polite and courteous staff (offered to help me carry laundry to the laundry room, helped me bring in groceries from the car), great location, very quiet, large and well-equipped suite, full size dishwasher and stove with oven (other Residence Inn's I have stayed at had a mini dishwasher and only a two burner cooktop)

Cons: Fireplace did not work properly (attempted to fix twice, but still could not get it to stay on for more than 20 minutes). Housekeeping staff leaves as soon as they are "finished," with all of their rooms, which is usually by noon. So if you are a late riser, forget about having your room serviced (front desk will provide clean towels and a trash bag, but this results in a huge mound of dirty towels and bags of trash). The sheets on the bed were the thinnest, cheapest sheets I have ever seen. I have never seen sheets like this in a Marriott property. We stayed at a Fairfield Inn recently and had better linens. The bed itself was in need of replacement - giant dip in the middle of the mattress. While the room was clean in general, there were some details being ignored - corners in the bathroom had tile/grout debris, a dead stinkbug sat on top of a light fixture for our entire stay, and in our two week visit the kitchen was never cleaned beyond emptying the trash. Kitchen linens were never changed. Amenities provided in other Residence Inns not provided here - liquid dish soap, paper towels. Wireless internet is fast but unstable.

Overall it was a good visit and we will stay here again when we are visiting family. I just can't give it 5 stars - maybe I'm too picky. Great value for the money though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonoandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The hotel is a block or two off the road, so it's quiet. The place is in great shape and a good residence inn. The one in Harrisonburg, Va really defines a GREAT residence inn - this one is very good. Rooms in good condition as are the public areas. Easy access and quiet. Can't ask for more. Well - maybe some good wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for taking time out to say postive things about our hotel. We strive to give the very best in guest service and product and am glad you enjoyed you stay with us. As the GM of the Roanoke Residence I agree that the newer, larger Residence Inn in Harrisonburg in very nice, glad to be in the same company with our Residence Inn. Hope you will tell all of your friends about us and will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Housekeeping staff did a fine job. Front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your kind remarks. We strive everyday to give our guest the very best in guest service and product. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed just one night, on the way from DC to Greenville, SC. What a shame, we didn't have more time to enjoy the accommodations here. The rooms are very well designed and clean with a nice kitchenette, which we didn't use, and free internet. The sofabed was clean but not made. However, pillows and bedding were promptly supplied when requested.The Breakfast was good, although the dining area is a bit of a disappointment after the rooms. Very close to the I-81. As we had a GPS, we did find the Residence Inn without too much of a hassle, although, we did not notice any signs. I think a Courtyard by Marriott was next door.
The Manager was very helpful with printed directions to nearby restaurants etc. We found a fabulous Mexican restaurant, for dinner. The Margaritas were out of this world and the food and service was very very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RukmalShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you very much for stayiing with us and for taking time to share about your postive stay. We are glad you found our rooms to be so nice, the kitchen's are a nice extra for our guests. Also good to know you found us easy to find and that our staff took good care of you. We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here for the Virginia July 2010 bar exam, and I thought it was a great choice. For my mother and myself, we had a huge 2 bedroom - 2 bathroom suite with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very quiet. Good breakfast in the morning with plentiful options. I hope I never have to take the bar exam again, but I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and comfortable stay during this stressful time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyBL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us durning the Bar Exam and the fantastic comment on Trip Advisor. We really apprecaite you taking the time to say what a great stay you had. We wish you the best on passing of the Bar Exam and for your future. Please continue to tell you friends and family about us and we hope your travels will bring you this way again.

Thanks again, John Dudley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Property: Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
Address: 3305 Ordway Dr NW, Roanoke, VA 24017-1916
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#13 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing