We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Owners.........please bring this place into the 21st Century” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach & Four Restaurant

Coach & Four Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New Owners.........please bring this place into the 21st Century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I will say that the food is excellent, so if there is anything in this place that should be kept it would be the chef. Applause to him, as it is top notch for the area. The out-dated decor and musty smell of the place can go at anytime.

As a side note, I did find the sign at the front door rather amusing. I don't remember the exact wording but something about neat dress, no hats in the dining room, and no cell phones. I agree with the neat dress and no hats, but that just seems like common courtesy. The cell phone bit seems just to once again date the place as, even though some are slow to accept it, cell phones are a part of normal life. I did find it extremely ironic when the hostess told a gentleman to take off his hat before they entered the dining room, while she was wearing a tank top, yoga pants, and sandals. I must guess the neat dress only applies to the patrons and not the employees?? Never mind the fact that it was 30 degrees outside and sleeting.

If you go, go for the food, and be amazed at the dated atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    14
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Ronaoke Va.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Their Prime Rib is out of this world. The staff is always very courteous. Prices are average for this area. Parking lot is a little trying as it is on a slope.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Salemtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
295 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a nice place to have dinner. We visited the area and were looking for a place to eat. The hotel recommended the place. The food was well prepared and served hot. The free appetizer was a nice touch. The salad fresh and tasty. All in all a great value and experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As Good as Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have visited this restaurant a number of times, the most recent last Saturday while visiting my son for Christmas. As has been mentioned by previous reviewers, this is just a nice family restaurant. Yes the decor is somewhat dated, but I like that, nothing fancy, just a very relaxing and down home atmosphere. The food is still very good. My son and I both had the Queen's cut of the prime rib and it was a good size cut that a flavorful and filling. there were five of us and the bill came too just about $120. That included drinks for three of us as we'll, and coffee. And tea after dinner.

We will be returning to Roanoke regularly and I suspect we will be making regular visits to this nice restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite SPECIAL OCCASSION restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant and the one I always request for my birthday or anniversary. The food is excellent. The atmosphere is so much like restaurants I went to with my parents when I was young (I am in my 50's). This upscale but very reasonably priced restaurant is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach & Four Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coach & Four Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing