We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro!

Metro!
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 467 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, French, American, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jefferson St.
Description: Metro! is downtown Roanoke’s premier restaurant and lounge. Though approaching the decade mark, Metro! continues to set standards for excellent cuisine and nightlife. An experience at Metro! brings to mind comparable restaurants in DC and New York City. Our extensive menu features American and Asian cuisine, with an a la carte steak and seafood selection. Nightly specials highlight unique chef-inspired creations. Our hand-crafted cocktails routinely garner awards from local publications. Our guest DJs are among the best in the world - they tour the globe performing for crowds of thousands, yet always love coming back to Roanoke to play on our state-of-the-art sound system. Come taste the difference - the experience that is Metro!
Rapidan, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

There are not many choices in Roanoke for Sunday brunch, especially if you don't fancy the hotel buffet setting, but this is a quite acceptable one. Very chic decor and open at 11. The rather standard fare menu includes plenty vegetarian choices. We had a good wild mushroom omelet, but the shrimp, sausage and grits offering was less successful. Nice homemade muffins and good service. However, all in all, I had expected more inventiveness and creativity in the menu. Perhaps they save that for meals other than brunch. The bloody Mary was quite good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    17
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
486 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visit this restaurant every time we are in Roanoke.
Situated on Campbell Avenue, there is convenient street parking as well as a public garage across the street.
The ambience is very pleasant. There is a nice bar with a movie screen overhead, where old movies are projected (without sound), and the dining area is well laid out.
Our server (Dexter) was attentive and knowledgeable.
We started with fried oyster appetizer, then the wife had beef rib entree while I had leg of lamb. Both were outstanding. Wife's vodka martini was properly mixed - cold and dry.
We'll keep coming here in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Modern food and a solid bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in downtown Roanoke. They have a great lunch bento box and usually have an interesting daily special. The bartenders know what they are doing and the service is quite good. It's almost hard to believe a place of this sophistication has thrived in Roanoke, but it does well and is a good choice for lunch or dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HenHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great variety on the menu, definitely try the cheese and pimento fritters!! Sooooo good! Liked the variety of sushi selections as well. Decor is eclectic and modern, presentation is spot on, and the staff treats you like royalty. Tanner was our waiter, he was great! Liked the cocktail selection, definitely some unique offerings. Wish there were more wines offered by the glass though. We have never been somewhere quite like Metro! but we agreed it definitely reminds us of the kind of establishments you'd find in a young and fun neighborhood like Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeltooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
274 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on Friday evening. The decor was pleasing, the menu was varied and there was not any noise carried over from the bar. The 4 of us were pleasantly satisfied with our entrees and the cute little desserts. The service was excellent- timely, but not intruding on our conversation. We'd recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BamTgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro! also viewed

 

Been to Metro!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing