We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous, just Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous, just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

So many fabulous things: beautifully decorated rooms, spacious bathrooms, comfortable beds with luxurious linens, delicious chocolate treats at bedtime and the most phenomenal breakfast ever-served with real china and silver!! Wendy is absolutely amazing! She is friendly, easy-going, and her hospitality is second to none! Attentive to our every need, Wendy readily provided directions to our destination, and suggestions of things to do. We were in town for a concert, and only there for one night, but I loved Rose Hill so much that I am definitely coming back for a whole weekend! Though it is conveniently located close to downtown, there is no traffic noise, and it is very quiet and peaceful. My favorite amenity is the front porch, inviting you to sit or swing and relax!! I simply cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Garden Room is beautiful, and the private bathroom just a few steps down the hall is furnished with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
114
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We are losing track, but we think this is about our tenth or eleventh visit to Rose Hill, so we are definitely not objective. Just to add a few tips.

Be sure and "do the math." When you factor in the huge breakfast, the midafternoon tea and snacks, and the bedtime sweet, the price is truly a bargain. We LOVE the Peacock Room (even though it is the least expensive room).

As noted by other reviewers, Wendy does a great job at filling you on local details. If you are a "private," non-chatty type, she will respect your space.

We love the fact that she asks what time you want breakfast. She has catered to business folks traveling, as well as folks like us who are there to sightsee.

The porch is a GREAT amenity. You have all the benefits of being literally steps away from downtown Roanoke, yet a very peaceful setting across the street from the park. We were there for three nights this week, and what a glorious time to visit Roanoke.

Finally - our visits to Rose Hill actually helped "sell" us on Roanoke as a place to relocate, and in two months time we will be residents. But we still hope to saunter over to Rose Hill occasionally for a little stay-cation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night before driving down the Blue Ridge parkway to Asheville. Wendy was an incredibly friendly and helpful host. We stayed in the peacock room which was beautiful. The private bathroom was the other end of landing which might bother some people. In fact we were the only guests staying that night so it was no problem at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We called into Roanoke on the way from Washington DC to Savannah. After the custom made hotels this was just heaven. A beautifully restored property of just 3 rooms. Each room has its own personality and a bathroom to match. Whilst this is not en-suite, it doesn't matter as Wendy provided dressing gowns and you only have to go down the corridor.

The "gourmet" breakfast was just that and a lovely sweet treat was also placed in our rooms for the event.

I could not praise this place highly enough, would recommend and return if I were ever in Roanoke again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This lovely location was an overnight stop over for us as we traveled north on a road trip. We wished we could have stayed more than one night, it was such a welcoming place. Our hostess made us feel comfortable. She helped us find a great place for dinner that was within walking distance. So many little touches added to our comfort. Amazing bed linens (ironed and scented!), scented toiletries, and lush towels made us feel regal. A plate of cookies when we arrived in the late afternoon, a bottle of ice water in our room when we returned from dinner, along with some homemade fudge are examples of the small but meaningful attentions Wendy pays to her guests. Breakfast was delicious. If we had more time, we would have enjoyed sitting on the front porch sipping something cold, looking across the road to a park in this historic district of Roanoke. Look at the website for details of how Wendy found and carefully restored this old, once run-down, home.

Room Tip: B&B's are have so much more ambiance that hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped at Rose Hill B&B while driving from Nashville to D.C.

Wendy was warm and friendly, and everything was in pristine condition. We felt very comfortable there. We arrived a little late, and there were cookies and homemade chocolate waiting for us! Ice water was also in the room, which was perfect after being on the road for so long.

Breakfast was insane! Absolutely delicious food, and very plentiful! We were stuffed, and there were even plenty of leftovers. Coffee, tea, juice, and water were provided to us as well.

Highly recommend this beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Rose Hill B and B just before Christmas 2012. We had a lovely time. The house was decorated beautifully for christmas and there was the lovely smell of spiced Cider too!
Wendy was very welcoming and a brilliant cook! Would thoroughly recommend this B and B to anyone staying in Roanoke!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 521 Washington Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the Old Southwest Historic district and directly across the street from 32-acre Highland Park. Located in a large, historic home, the B & B is just 1.2 miles from downtown with easy access to Route 581. You will enjoy the scenic views yet appreciate the convenient location. Delight in the cozy accommodations, three-course gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, and homemade chocolate in your room each night. If you are in Roanoke for business, pleasure, touring the local Virginia colleges or soaking up local color, Rose Hill welcomes you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Bed And Breakfast
Rose Hill Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing