We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm, and filling B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean, warm, and filling B&B!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped at Rose Hill B&B while driving from Nashville to D.C.

Wendy was warm and friendly, and everything was in pristine condition. We felt very comfortable there. We arrived a little late, and there were cookies and homemade chocolate waiting for us! Ice water was also in the room, which was perfect after being on the road for so long.

Breakfast was insane! Absolutely delicious food, and very plentiful! We were stuffed, and there were even plenty of leftovers. Coffee, tea, juice, and water were provided to us as well.

Highly recommend this beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
138
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Rose Hill B and B just before Christmas 2012. We had a lovely time. The house was decorated beautifully for christmas and there was the lovely smell of spiced Cider too!
Wendy was very welcoming and a brilliant cook! Would thoroughly recommend this B and B to anyone staying in Roanoke!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I keep forgetting to share my experiences with everyone about the Rose Hill B&B, since we stayed there during the summer of 2012. Wendy Blair, the owner, is very nice and is a wonderful cook. We had a beautiful room with it's own bathroom. I think that some rooms may share a bathroom, so if that is important to you, you may want to ask first.

The house is in a nice neighborhood. We were able to take a nice walk and there was even a restaurant within walking distance-sorry, I can't remember the name. Wendy can give you the name.

While we were there, we also had the pleasure of meeting her daughter and beautiful grandchildren.

We enjoyed our visit very much, which was also our wedding anniversary.So, thank you, Wendy for some great memories!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our overnight stay at Rose Hill B&B was luxurious and relaxing. The house was beautiful with hardwood furniture, elegant drapery and a large fireplace. The bed was incredibly comfortable with super soft sheets and blankets and we indulged ourselves in a hot soak in the tub-for-two before checking out. The food was delicious - both the cookies waiting for us upon our arrival, the midnight chocolate snack left in our room for us and the three course breakfast. Wendy made us feel pampered from start to finish and her daughter and grandson only added to the hospitable and warm environment.

Room Tip: The Garbo room was beautiful with a huge, gorgeous bathroom and a incredibly comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_kristen60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I originally planned to stay just one night, but enjoyed the pampering so much that we decided to use the excuse of tentative bad weather as a reason to stay for a second night. We had a remarkable time. Everything was prepared so nicely for us. Wendy was an excellent hostess and her home was lovely. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Owner, head chef and bottle washer, Wendy Blair couldn't have been nicer. She's a southern California girl transplanted to Virginia mountain country. Her San Diego style cuisine was a delight. She caters to your every need. The house is about 100 years old, and does need a little more sprucing up, but it was clean, cozy, and well appointed. You will particularly enjoy her Hollywood decor in the bedrooms, i.e. the Garbo Room. We were there right after Thanksgiving so the neighborhood and the whole town of Roanoke was decorated beautifully for the holidays.We did not know, but soon learned that Roanoke is the cultural center of Virginia. Make sure you check out the farmers market and the Tudor style Hotel Roanoke, and visit the beautiful St. Andrews Catholic church - all within walking distance. There are plenty of good restaurants, some with entertainment.

Room Tip: The Garbo Room has it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wendy Blair, poetess in residence has done a nice job with her home. We stayed in one of
four unique rooms in this neighborhood B&B. She is very good in the kitchen and made homemade candy and a delicious omlet for breakfast.
Her daughter and grandson and son were also staying at the house and we did find it a
bit odd to have them in constant contact sitting in the living room in bath robes and throwing
toys with Lionell, the 2 year old. The place reminded me more of a visit to my Uncle Fred, than
a stay at a well rated B&B.
The lavender scented sheets were a nice touch and Wendy is very helpful in directions and most interesting to chat with about her creative writing career. Another stay ? No.

Room Tip: Book the room with the included bath. The Ancient tub and shower are hard to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzkneemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
735 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 521 Washington Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the Old Southwest Historic district and directly across the street from 32-acre Highland Park. Located in a large, historic home, the B & B is just 1.2 miles from downtown with easy access to Route 581. You will enjoy the scenic views yet appreciate the convenient location. Delight in the cozy accommodations, three-course gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, and homemade chocolate in your room each night. If you are in Roanoke for business, pleasure, touring the local Virginia colleges or soaking up local color, Rose Hill welcomes you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Hotel Roanoke
Rose Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing