We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our overnight stay at Rose Hill B&B was luxurious and relaxing. The house was beautiful with hardwood furniture, elegant drapery and a large fireplace. The bed was incredibly comfortable with super soft sheets and blankets and we indulged ourselves in a hot soak in the tub-for-two before checking out. The food was delicious - both the cookies waiting for us upon our arrival, the midnight chocolate snack left in our room for us and the three course breakfast. Wendy made us feel pampered from start to finish and her daughter and grandson only added to the hospitable and warm environment.

Room Tip: The Garbo room was beautiful with a huge, gorgeous bathroom and a incredibly comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_kristen60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
117
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I originally planned to stay just one night, but enjoyed the pampering so much that we decided to use the excuse of tentative bad weather as a reason to stay for a second night. We had a remarkable time. Everything was prepared so nicely for us. Wendy was an excellent hostess and her home was lovely. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Owner, head chef and bottle washer, Wendy Blair couldn't have been nicer. She's a southern California girl transplanted to Virginia mountain country. Her San Diego style cuisine was a delight. She caters to your every need. The house is about 100 years old, and does need a little more sprucing up, but it was clean, cozy, and well appointed. You will particularly enjoy her Hollywood decor in the bedrooms, i.e. the Garbo Room. We were there right after Thanksgiving so the neighborhood and the whole town of Roanoke was decorated beautifully for the holidays.We did not know, but soon learned that Roanoke is the cultural center of Virginia. Make sure you check out the farmers market and the Tudor style Hotel Roanoke, and visit the beautiful St. Andrews Catholic church - all within walking distance. There are plenty of good restaurants, some with entertainment.

Room Tip: The Garbo Room has it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wendy Blair, poetess in residence has done a nice job with her home. We stayed in one of
four unique rooms in this neighborhood B&B. She is very good in the kitchen and made homemade candy and a delicious omlet for breakfast.
Her daughter and grandson and son were also staying at the house and we did find it a
bit odd to have them in constant contact sitting in the living room in bath robes and throwing
toys with Lionell, the 2 year old. The place reminded me more of a visit to my Uncle Fred, than
a stay at a well rated B&B.
The lavender scented sheets were a nice touch and Wendy is very helpful in directions and most interesting to chat with about her creative writing career. Another stay ? No.

Room Tip: Book the room with the included bath. The Ancient tub and shower are hard to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzkneemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wendy did everything in her power with an open heart to make sure our stay at her quaint bed and breakfast was as perfect as it could be. We are vegans and she went out of her way to create delightful culinary treats considering our dietary restrictions. She is an excellent and creative cook, adapting her favorite breakfasts with much flare.

Her abode is across the street from a beautiful park and down the block from a wonderful place to walk for dinner. And helpful must be her middle name because whatever we asked, whatever we needed, was taken care of with enthusiasm. What a gem. We felt like we were welcomed in her home and became a part of the family.

This experience is exactly what we look for when we stay at a bed and breakfast - a personal connection to the area, and Wendy has it all.

Room Tip: The Garbo Room was a large delight with an enormous beautiful private bath and claw foot tub. We lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 3 lovely days with Wendy. Very comfortable room with terrific breakfasts and evening treats. Wendy is a very accomodating hostess: flexible breakfast times, our favorite newspaper and a place to accomodate our bicycles. The inn is across from a nice city park and just a few blocks from the Greenway bike trail along the Roanoke River. An nice neighborhood restaurant is within walking distance and downtown Roanoke is just a few blocks further. We have recommended Rose Hill to our friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the garden room, streetside, sunny and quiet. Private bath is not adjoining, but close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

For our first B&B experience we hit the jackpot. Someone else wrote it was like staying with a favorite relative and I couldn't agree more. Wendy couldn't make you feel more comfortable or important unless you called her Mom. Ironed sheets that smell like lavender, breakfasts with fresh made muffins across from a beautiful city park. Great B&B in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Garbo room has an ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 521 Washington Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the Old Southwest Historic district and directly across the street from 32-acre Highland Park. Located in a large, historic home, the B & B is just 1.2 miles from downtown with easy access to Route 581. You will enjoy the scenic views yet appreciate the convenient location. Delight in the cozy accommodations, three-course gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, and homemade chocolate in your room each night. If you are in Roanoke for business, pleasure, touring the local Virginia colleges or soaking up local color, Rose Hill welcomes you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Bed And Breakfast
Rose Hill Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing