We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We were catered to......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were catered to......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wendy did everything in her power with an open heart to make sure our stay at her quaint bed and breakfast was as perfect as it could be. We are vegans and she went out of her way to create delightful culinary treats considering our dietary restrictions. She is an excellent and creative cook, adapting her favorite breakfasts with much flare.

Her abode is across the street from a beautiful park and down the block from a wonderful place to walk for dinner. And helpful must be her middle name because whatever we asked, whatever we needed, was taken care of with enthusiasm. What a gem. We felt like we were welcomed in her home and became a part of the family.

This experience is exactly what we look for when we stay at a bed and breakfast - a personal connection to the area, and Wendy has it all.

Room Tip: The Garbo Room was a large delight with an enormous beautiful private bath and claw foot tub. We lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
116
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saluda, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 3 lovely days with Wendy. Very comfortable room with terrific breakfasts and evening treats. Wendy is a very accomodating hostess: flexible breakfast times, our favorite newspaper and a place to accomodate our bicycles. The inn is across from a nice city park and just a few blocks from the Greenway bike trail along the Roanoke River. An nice neighborhood restaurant is within walking distance and downtown Roanoke is just a few blocks further. We have recommended Rose Hill to our friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the garden room, streetside, sunny and quiet. Private bath is not adjoining, but close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

For our first B&B experience we hit the jackpot. Someone else wrote it was like staying with a favorite relative and I couldn't agree more. Wendy couldn't make you feel more comfortable or important unless you called her Mom. Ironed sheets that smell like lavender, breakfasts with fresh made muffins across from a beautiful city park. Great B&B in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Garbo room has an ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George Brant
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at Rose Hill in mid October, 2012. We were welcomed by Wendy and she did a great job making us feel welcome and comfortable. We enjoyed cookies, tea and hot cider in adition to two swell breakfasts. Wendys recommendation to visit the 'Market' downtown was a hit with the ladies.
Great location in a very nice city. Its very quiet here. Even out on the front porch in the sun.
We will return to Rose Hill next time we are in the area.
Thanks again Wendy!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would suit us just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful home in a fabulous location. We stayed in the Garbo room which had the most comfortable bed & the biggest bathroom I've ever seen! Fantastic breakfasts, Wendy prepared cookies & cakes for snacking and very thoughtfully brought up a jug of iced water with biscuits every evening which was much appreciated. It was lovely to be a part of this wonderful happy home & to meet her gorgeous grandson Lionel. Wendi went out of her way to make sure our stay was the most memorable. Couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am actually a Roanoke local who has lived in the area for over 10 years. I heard about Rose Hill from a customer who came into my store last month raving about the most phenomenal breakfast she had just eaten. We discussed her stay and I decided it might be a nice one night get away for my fiancee and I who, because of his new job, won't be afforded any extended vacation time in the near future. We arrived at Rose Hill on Saturday afternoon around 3pm to the smell of freshly baked cookies. Wendy was oh so pleasant and informed us that we had arrived just in time for afternoon tea. We sat on the porch swing and enjoyed delicious treats and refreshments while admiring the beautiful park directly across the street. The house was immaculate and our room oh so comfortable. Breakfast was even better than the woman in my store had described and I don't think we ate anything the rest of the day on Sunday. We will definitely be back for a visit and would recommend Rose Hill to anyone looking to be pampered in the comfort of a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garbo Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wendy is an incredible hostess, not only does she immediately make you feel that you made the right choice, but she will prove it to you. Best beds, best personality and best food yet!! Thanks Wendy and Lionel for such a wonderful experience. It was like staying with your favorite relatives!!! I recommend her comfortable place and her charming personality to everyone. We had a great time and we'll be back!! Reg and Melissa Pinkerton

Room Tip: The Garbo Room is particularly charming with its own private bath attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1951_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 521 Washington Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the Old Southwest Historic district and directly across the street from 32-acre Highland Park. Located in a large, historic home, the B & B is just 1.2 miles from downtown with easy access to Route 581. You will enjoy the scenic views yet appreciate the convenient location. Delight in the cozy accommodations, three-course gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, and homemade chocolate in your room each night. If you are in Roanoke for business, pleasure, touring the local Virginia colleges or soaking up local color, Rose Hill welcomes you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Bed And Breakfast
Rose Hill Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing