We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous B & B”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful home in a fabulous location. We stayed in the Garbo room which had the most comfortable bed & the biggest bathroom I've ever seen! Fantastic breakfasts, Wendy prepared cookies & cakes for snacking and very thoughtfully brought up a jug of iced water with biscuits every evening which was much appreciated. It was lovely to be a part of this wonderful happy home & to meet her gorgeous grandson Lionel. Wendi went out of her way to make sure our stay was the most memorable. Couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
138
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am actually a Roanoke local who has lived in the area for over 10 years. I heard about Rose Hill from a customer who came into my store last month raving about the most phenomenal breakfast she had just eaten. We discussed her stay and I decided it might be a nice one night get away for my fiancee and I who, because of his new job, won't be afforded any extended vacation time in the near future. We arrived at Rose Hill on Saturday afternoon around 3pm to the smell of freshly baked cookies. Wendy was oh so pleasant and informed us that we had arrived just in time for afternoon tea. We sat on the porch swing and enjoyed delicious treats and refreshments while admiring the beautiful park directly across the street. The house was immaculate and our room oh so comfortable. Breakfast was even better than the woman in my store had described and I don't think we ate anything the rest of the day on Sunday. We will definitely be back for a visit and would recommend Rose Hill to anyone looking to be pampered in the comfort of a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garbo Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wendy is an incredible hostess, not only does she immediately make you feel that you made the right choice, but she will prove it to you. Best beds, best personality and best food yet!! Thanks Wendy and Lionel for such a wonderful experience. It was like staying with your favorite relatives!!! I recommend her comfortable place and her charming personality to everyone. We had a great time and we'll be back!! Reg and Melissa Pinkerton

Room Tip: The Garbo Room is particularly charming with its own private bath attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1951_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Only stayed one night before our next stop, but our lovely experience here set the tone for the entire vacation trip. Afternoon tea by Wendy is extraordinary--and it's served on far better china & tableware than we use at home! We stayed in the "Garbo" suite, which was spacious, attractive and very quiet. Found a night-time snack of brownies and a carafe of water left outside our door. Breakfast was delightful (French toast for me, yea!). I would have to disagree with <travelmom42> because I found the premises well-maintained, secure and completely congenial. Wendy had other guests, but the place was restful at night and full of interesting conversation during the day. The huge public park across the street is a plus for walking off the outstanding breakfast and snacks. Due to my own oversight, we left my spouse's favorite jacket in the "Garbo's" closet. However, Wendy & her lovely daughter not only kept it safe for us, they were happy to have us swing by three days later en route to the airport & retrieve the jacket, even though it was during the B&B's "private" time. All in all, a wonderful stay that we've talked about since returning home!

Room Tip: Let Wendy pick--she has a good instinct for her guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drb841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I spent a recent night at Wendy's estaablishment. The food as outrageously good, the room clean and comfortable, and Wendy herself utterly charming. I cannot recommend this property highly enough! Great place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Garbo Suite and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We reserved one night here due to the Tripadvisor reviews and the inn's website. I will say that the innkeeper is very friendly. However, there were some unsettling things that caused us not to stay, even though we had already paid in full when we booked our reservation. First, there was no key to the room in order to lock you belongings, just a chain to partially secure the door when you were inside. I have never seen that at an inn before. When taking us to the room the innkeeper pointed out a broken window and a roof leak into the corner of the room. She claimed that both occurred very recently and she did not have time to fix them. We were in contact several time with the innkeeper by email before we arrived and she should had advised us of these items before we checked in. It was a rainy night and we did not look forward to a leaky room. She also pointed out a very high threshold in the doorway to the bath as a trip hazard. You should also know that for an inn that has a child restriction, she is the primary caregiver for a small toddler, who was adorable but she had to interrupt getting us settled in several times to take care of the child, as her check-in time is also dinner time. We also had asked in advance for recommendation for dinner and were told of a nearby restaurant that sounded great. But we later found out that it was closed on Sunday, which was our one night there. When we checked in we were told that there were limited choices on a Sunday night. It would have been nice if that was communicated to us before we arrived. We did not feel comfortable staying and we left, having paid for the room. We do respect cancelation policies and did not ask for our money back. Just be sure to ask about every condition before you book. Recap: for us no keys for room, damages in room not being disclosed before we arrived, and unexpectedly being in the middle of a childcare situation for an anniversary trip at a b&b made it a no-go for us. Very nice person, though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were greeted by Wendy upon our arrival, shown the amenities of Rose Hill & given a tour of our room. She gave us several recommeendations for area rstaurants. There were freshly made cookies available in the kitchen all the time & homemade candy greeted us when we returned from dinner. There is a 32 acre park across the street from Rose Hill if you like to walk. Lovingly restored home, great ambiance & delicious food! I would highly recommend this for anyone who loves a B&B experience.

Room Tip: The Garbo Room has an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsimen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 521 Washington Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the Old Southwest Historic district and directly across the street from 32-acre Highland Park. Located in a large, historic home, the B & B is just 1.2 miles from downtown with easy access to Route 581. You will enjoy the scenic views yet appreciate the convenient location. Delight in the cozy accommodations, three-course gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, and homemade chocolate in your room each night. If you are in Roanoke for business, pleasure, touring the local Virginia colleges or soaking up local color, Rose Hill welcomes you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Hotel Roanoke
Rose Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing