We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny smell and dark!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Funny smell and dark!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

When I entered the lobby the place was so dark that I thought there was no one there. It was a bit scary at first. There was no one at the front desk to greet you and all the lights over the desk were out. I was just about ready to leave when someone came in from the back. The lobby also had a funny smell to it. I am not sure what it was but it wasn't pleasant. The room was an executive king as I have stayed with them before, but I didn't feel like it was as clean as some others that I have stayed at. To say the least I was a tad disappointed. I am a Marriott member and I can tell you I don't think it was up to their standards. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasparilla97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    24
    16
    4
See reviews for
56
59
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here recently on business and found the lobby and room to be clean and spacious. The place has been recently renovated so it had the new carpet small in areas, but I'd rather have new carpet smells than the alternatives found in other hotels that show their age. Front desk was friendly, breakfast was standard fare of pastries and cereals, with the only items that can be served hot being oatmeal packets and some sausage/biscuit combinations you zap in the microwave. Ate at a nearby restaurant that the front desk recommended called Hollywoods Restaurant and Bakery on Williamson Road less than 2 miles away - definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Used my AAA card when booking a day prior to save a few bucks. Had room 203 with 2 queen beds. When entering the hotel at 10pm, the lobby looked clean and in order, checked in quickly, the hallways looked clean and orderly. When getting off the 2nd floor elevator, I did catch a whiff of disinfectant, but it wasn't as bad as other placed I have stayed in the are. I also found the room clean and comfortable with a whiff of disinfectant. (those shades do close once you figure out how) I slept well and was on my way the next day after the included simple breakfast. I would give 4.5 stars, but rounding up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsport, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We always request a room with a king-size bed. This hotel only has 5 rooms with that size bed. We were put in a room right near an outside door & down the hall from the lobby. They definitely saved money on insulation....we heard the outside door close every time & heard several conversations at the front desk...with our door closed! In addition, the doors to each room slam shut due to the fact that the mechanisms are set that way, I guess. When I mentioned this, I was told I was wrong. I invited the clerk to see for herself, but why should she bother? The room was handicap-accessible...............the bathroom had no hooks & no vanity to put toiletries on...all in all, poor service & a horrible nights' sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just stayed at the Fairfield Inn North Roanoke and found it to be superb. The property looks to have recently been re-modeled and is very clean and neat. I encountered no issues during my brief stay and found the management and front desk staff to be friendly, helpful, and very hospitable. Although the hotel is a short distance from I-81, I found it to be very quiet. Overall, I say it is a great value for the price and I would definitely stay here again if presented the opportunity.

Room Tip: Stay in the rear of the hotel, away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the odor that was in the lobby. Not a good sign even if your Hotel is under construction. The front desk Manager Kelli was not very friendly and found her to be extremely rude. It might have been just me but the following morning witnessed another front desk person being the same way to a Guest who had a question about the Property,
Never once reviewing the hotel amenities, where the room was located, where to park, when breakfast was served or anything else. This was very unlike a Fairfield Property that I have ever encountered. The rate was over $130 a night and found the rooms to be ok and the tv reception wasn't good at all. I planned on staying 2 nights and after one night cancelled and found a nearby Hotel that was much less and far better. It takes alot for me to spend the time looking for a new hotel but was very happy I did.

Room Tip: Try to find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriots1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good value, quite clean, no negatives to relate. We arrived after a day in the car, checked right in. Found nothing to complain about, which is worth a ton when you're travelling. The extra few bucks over some of the 'value' chains is well worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
719 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.8 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Address: 7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North hotel, where we provide you with exactly the hotel experience you're looking for - a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. You can enjoy our Roanoke, VA hotel's gym-quality fitness center and then jump-start your day with a complimentary, hot breakfast. During breakfast you'll find that we have a wide variety of choices like eggs, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit and yogurt. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have top of the line Internet accessibility with both wired and wireless throughout the hotel. Forget your laptop? No problem! We offer a fully functional business center including 2 PCs that will make your work away from the office a breeze. We are located only .2 miles off of Interstate 81 with Exelis, Wells Fargo, Hollins University, Pepsi Co., Advance Auto, Carpetland, Kroger and Double Envelope all located within 5 miles. Roanoke College and Virginia Tech are just minutes away. Come see the beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Roanoke North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North Hotel Roanoke
Fairfield Inn Roanoke
Fairfield Roanoke
Roanoke Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing