We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn, Roanoke, VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn, Roanoke, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very good Fairfield, Inn. We were traveling on the Blueridge Parkway and Roanoke was our lay-over destination. The hotel is further away from the Blueridge than we liked but it was only a 15 minute ride to get there from the trail. There is a good Mexican restaurant within walking distance from the hotel that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Try the Mexican restaurant within walking distance. There in a Hampton Inn right next door that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
47
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived (midnight) it was excellent. We were heading to Radford University the next morning for a "College Tour". Great location just off I81. Amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Friendly, quick and courteous check in with "Ricky". I inquired about the availability of an "accessible" room, I recently had knee surgery, and was able to get one. The bath tub and a lower clearance to step into with a fold down seat, fixed shower head as well as a hand held shower head. Worked like a charm!!
I also had asked, in passing, how far Radford was from the hotel, to find the next morning printed directions and a friendly reminder to come down and enjoy breakfast slipped under our door. Fairfield offers a deluxe continental breakfast, this one is probably the BEST we've encountered in all of our years staying at Fairfield Inns. The selection was better than we've ever had. The vanilla malted fresh made waffles were wonderful! The Staff from the Front Desk to Housekeeping and Breakfast Attendent were very friendly. The hotel is very clean!! If in the area again, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Recently stayed while on a business trip. Great location, just off I-81, very close to the airport. Great view of the surrounding mountains. Comfortable King size bed, 40-42" flat panel TV, in room micro/fridge. High speed wifi internet access. I didn't have a chance to run a speed test, but, it seemed to be about average. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Aside from freshly made waffles, the breakfast options were items in a cooling rack that could be microwaved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although I did not request an accessible room I received one upon my recent check in; I hope this review is helpful to anyone specifically seeking an accessible room review.

The hotel was full during my stay (a Virginia Tech game that weekend), and check in was smooth. I rarely had to wait for an elevator during my stay. Upon arriving at my room I noticed that it did have a button to push to open the door; I did not test it, but it appeared that you would insert your keycard and then hold the button down for five seconds rather than using the handle.

The room was spacious but appeared just like the photos of the two queen room on the website. If you were using a wheelchair or walker I imagine you might want to move the desk chair into the far corner of the room, but that is the only adjustment that jumped out at me. The microwave might have been a little challenging to reach from a wheelchair, but everything else was easy to get to and at a suitable height.

The bathroom was noticeably different and clearly designed for accessibility. The tub/shower featured a fold down bench and a hand held shower. There was a stationary shower head as well, but I could not get it to work. The water did seem to increase in heat a bit over time and the bench is not within arm's reach of the controls; if you are not able to move on your own to adjust the controls I encourage you to wait a few minutes for the water to stabilize before getting in. Additionally, the bench are in the tub is next to the sink; you cannot place your wheelchair next to the bench. It may be challenging to transfer from a wheelchair to the bench without assistance. There are wall bars for support in the tub and on the wall behind and to the left of the toilet. There is minimal countertop around the sink (compared to a standard room). One thing I did notice: there were no tissues in this room. I have a feeling they usually go in the standard bathroom vanity and this adjusted vanity did not allow for them. Towels were placed only on the wall above the toilet. If you were using a wheelchair bath towels would be out of reach.

If you were navigating the breakfast area with a wheelchair or assisting someone using a wheelchair I would think this would be your largest challenge. Again, the hotel was full during my stay. Items on the breakfast buffet are placed very closely together and the area is congested. The coffee is essentially in a corner. Tables and other seating in the area is placed close enough together that I found it challenging to get around the room.

This room was directly across from the vending area and one room away from the elevators.

I would stay here again if the situation called for it, but I'd be just as likely to look at another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrapKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great compliment to Va Tech Hokie fans who dominated the hotel, probably for the football game. The place was clean, friendly, and relatively near Blacksburg being just off of the interstate. The breakfast buffet was very good for a continental selection. Planning on going back for a game next year. Really enjoyed seeing all of the guests with Hokie shirts on.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night - is is close to highway - easy to find - shopping and dining close by. Nice area! The room was very clean and new, staff very friendly. Breakfast was good - waffles, sandwiches, yogurts, fruits - everything you would want - very good coffee. The pool was closed - Jacuzzi inside and nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I used this hotel as a stopping point on my way to Gatlinburg, TN. Easy on/off I-81 and in a good location. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and when I asked to change my room, they did it without any question or conversation.
My room overlooked the outdoor pool and it was a bit noisy with children until about 8pm but other than that, there was no extraneous noise.
This Fairfield Inn offered more than the regular Jimmy Dean Biscuits. There was a selection of lower calorie items and this went a long way for me. The turkey/cheese breakfast burrito was excellent and the woman running the breakfast was very friendly, chatty and really seemed to care about the conversations she had.
I will definitely be stopping at this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Address: 7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North hotel, where we provide you with exactly the hotel experience you're looking for - a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. You can enjoy our Roanoke, VA hotel's gym-quality fitness center and then jump-start your day with a complimentary, hot breakfast. During breakfast you'll find that we have a wide variety of choices like eggs, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit and yogurt. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have top of the line Internet accessibility with both wired and wireless throughout the hotel. Forget your laptop? No problem! We offer a fully functional business center including 2 PCs that will make your work away from the office a breeze. We are located only .2 miles off of Interstate 81 with Exelis, Wells Fargo, Hollins University, Pepsi Co., Advance Auto, Carpetland, Kroger and Double Envelope all located within 5 miles. Roanoke College and Virginia Tech are just minutes away. Come see the beautiful mountain views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Roanoke North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North Hotel Roanoke
Fairfield Inn Roanoke
Fairfield Roanoke
Roanoke Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing