We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nawab Indian Cuisine

Nawab Indian Cuisine
Ranked #27 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time visit and restaurant looked nice but was kind of dark to see the menue and the food was over cooked but I would give it a second try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salem0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Indian Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The perfect time to eat at Nawab is when they offer their lunch buffet and you can taste from all over the flavor spectrum. These buffets are SO outstanding that it makes dining there at night (when you have to choose only one item) a difficult decision. If you do eat at the buffet, don't plan on doing anything that afternoon except having a nap!

The service is always perfect and polite, without fail.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Martin_3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was okay…wide variety of food choices, but found the seasoning to be a little bland. The atmosphere is good. Prices are great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Merlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LOVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been here a few times, for the lunch buffet and dinner, and I have never been dissapointed. There doesn't seem to be a bad dish on the menu and the portions are great for sharing! I love the paneer dishes the most and there isn't a shortage of choices on the menu. Their samosas are big and delicious, only 2 in a serving though. I especially love the staff, they have always been overly friendly, wanting to help new diners make the best selection and always checking back to guarantee the spice level is what we wanted and that we are pleased with our choice. Our server even joked around with my friend last night, teasing her that he couldn't read so she would attempt to pronounce her order and then praised her for being able to walk away and tell people exactly what she got! I adore this place and highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannalynhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our family has gone here on 4 different occasions and each time the food has been delicious and plenty of it. The service is very good and the prices very reasonable. The chicken in each of the dishes that we get is always very plump and tender. They will bring each dish out in a bowl with the basmaty rice in a separate dish. We always share because there is so much and to see how each person's order tastes. When your basmaty rice runs low, they will be happy to get you more. You also get to choose, and the waiter will ask, if you want your dish mild, medium, or hot. I normally get medium but my wife doesn't like it; she gets mild. The medium is slightly spicy but not too spicy. Overall, a great place with delicious food. Plus its in downtown Roanoke which is nice. Although families would enjoy eating there, I'm not sure there's anything on the menu for little children.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelrm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nawab Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing