We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, romantic evening.”

Regency Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Regency Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 498 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Williamson Road
Transit: Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue. Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.
Description: Celebrating More Than 75 Years of Southern Hospitality This autumn, The Regency Room will be rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco and Chef de Cuisine Colin Lloyd introduce their new Autumn/Winter Menus. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! The Regency Room is located adjacent to the Hotel lobby.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were told not to eat at the Regency because it was hit and miss. We went anyway for sentimental reasons.
The hostess was very good when we asked not to be seated near a baby. As it turned out, the baby slept through the whole evening, so it wouldn't have been a problem.
Our dinners were excellent - seafood sampler, crab cake,
rack of lamb, and pound cake with vanilla ice cream, a fantastic sauce and pecan crisp.
Our server, Kelly W. was outstanding. She was vey pleasant, attentive, and knowledgeable.
The dining room is beautiful and the jazz trio was wonderful!
The only issue we had was not the fault of the dining room. We were charged $8.00 to park with the hotel valet. When we asked if we could self park, we were told that would be $7.00.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank budMaconNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear budMaconNC, thank you for your review of the restaurant and for dining with us. We appreciate your honest review of your experience and your continued patronage. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our server and staff and invite you to come back again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food (try the peanut soup or she crab soup), wait staff in white jackets and ties, great service, and good wine list. In the process of being remodeled it will hopefully retain the historical look it has always had. Pricey but a good value for the quality of the food and service

Thank HokieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear HokieJohn, thank you for your review of the restaurant. We ensure upon the renovations of The Regency Room that we will keep the integrity of the room while also offering the amenities and atmosphere that our valued diners enjoy. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and experience the restaurant after renovations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a very tender steak that was reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of food. Very attentive service.

Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Pamela T, thank you for your review of the restaurant and for choosing our restaurant to dine in. I hope you enjoyed your time with us and will come back to visit again soon when your travels bring you to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My party of six (6) had dinner reservations for 7:30 Friday evening and we also reserved a table in the Pine Room (a lounge in the Hotel) for 9:30 Friday evening to hear a friend playing in the lounge. Dinner was so SLOW we did not finish dinner until almost 11:00!!
The restaurant was about 1/2 full but they were out of menus.
My date ordered the filet and it was tough...obviously not a Prime cut of beef...
My crab cake was over spiced...
They are extremely short on help...I think only two (2) servers tried to handle the entire dining room...It was even difficult to get more wine when the bottle ran empty ($110/bottle).
The highlight of the evening was the three piece orchestra who played during dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lefty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Lefty1313, thank you for your review of the restaurant. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your visit. While that evening we were understaffed and overwhelmed by an unexpected group, it is no excuse to not provide the best product, service and experience possible. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The atmosphere and decor here makes it a very grand place. However when we dined there last Sunday evening the service was very, very poor. The welcome was unfriendly and after being seated, we waited, and waited and in the end we had to call the male Restaurant Manager. I ordered beer and it was clearly not what the waitress wanted to bring. It seemed she was shocked at a woman ordering beer. The service was slow and extremely disorganised.

The shrimp salad consisted of 3 huge, tough shrimps on a salad. The salad was very good but the shimps were overcooked and tasteless. My husband's main course had grits as an accompaniment and they tasted very odd.

In it's defence, we had breakfast in this restaurant the following morning and it couldn't have been more different. The hostess was the same but slightly more friendly and the waitress was excellent. We were really surprised how different the experiences were.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Canberra_Traveller, thank you for your review of the restaurant and I agree, we should have been better. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during dinner. We strive daily to provide the best in product, service and experience for breakfast, lunch and dinner and unfortunately did not live up to our own standards. I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to again serve you during breakfast and hope if your travels bring you back to our area that you will give us a chance to serve you. I will share your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regency Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Regency Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing