We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been better”

Regency Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Regency Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 497 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Williamson Road
Transit: Smart Way Bus has two stops along Wells Avenue. Star Trolley stops at the Market Building, with a short walk across the Market Square Walkway to the restaurant.
Description: Celebrating More Than 75 Years of Southern Hospitality This autumn, The Regency Room will be rich with bountiful colors and fresh ingredients as Executive Chef Stephen DeMarco and Chef de Cuisine Colin Lloyd introduce their new Autumn/Winter Menus. Make a statement in The Regency Room each and every time you dine! The Regency Room is located adjacent to the Hotel lobby.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The atmosphere and decor here makes it a very grand place. However when we dined there last Sunday evening the service was very, very poor. The welcome was unfriendly and after being seated, we waited, and waited and in the end we had to call the male Restaurant Manager. I ordered beer and it was clearly not what the waitress wanted to bring. It seemed she was shocked at a woman ordering beer. The service was slow and extremely disorganised.

The shrimp salad consisted of 3 huge, tough shrimps on a salad. The salad was very good but the shimps were overcooked and tasteless. My husband's main course had grits as an accompaniment and they tasted very odd.

In it's defence, we had breakfast in this restaurant the following morning and it couldn't have been more different. The hostess was the same but slightly more friendly and the waitress was excellent. We were really surprised how different the experiences were.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Canberra_Traveller, thank you for your review of the restaurant and I agree, we should have been better. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during dinner. We strive daily to provide the best in product, service and experience for breakfast, lunch and dinner and unfortunately did not live up to our own standards. I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to again serve you during breakfast and hope if your travels bring you back to our area that you will give us a chance to serve you. I will share your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on business and ate in this restaurant twice during my stay. The food is fantastic, the staff is helpful and hard working, and attentive. They seemed real busy, and service was a little slow. Other than that no complaints.

Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Nate R, thank you for your review of the Hotel! We appreciate you dining with us and apologize for the inconvenience of slow service. Business levels are no excuse for the lack of exceptional service. I hope you will come back again the next time you find yourself in Roanoke.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Each Christmas we book a family gathering in the Regency Room for its Sunday brunch: excellent and elegant! We will book shortly for Christmas 2012 and look forward to the beautifully decorated hotel and the delicious brunch.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whiteoakspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear whiteoakspring, what a wonderful review to read. We are honored to be apart of your Christmas tradition and appreciate being able to be the backdrop of memories. We look forward to serving you this year and promise Chef has an exquisite menu to satisfy the most discerning palate.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food was ok, we had the crap soup which was good and the shrimp salad was also very tasty for starter then I had the crab cake which was not so good, the cake itself was very wet and way too big, my husband had the salmon which was average.
The service was again only ok, it was slow and a little over the top (a cold fork for my salad).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Laura W, thank you for your review of the restaurant. I will share your review with our staff as we strive to present the best product, service and experience and unfortunately fell short during your visit. I hope you will give us another chance if your travels find you back in the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very special restaurant in a lovely hotel, everything is always perfect. The food was just spectacular.

Thank Carol4802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at Regency Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Carol4802, thank you for your review of the restaurant and for spending the holidays with us. We hope you will come back to spend many more with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regency Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing