We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice furnishings, not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice furnishings, not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Good: furnishings were nice, the buildings are gorgeous, and the food is 4/5.
Bad: unless you pay for the valet parking it is literally a hike to the hotel, there are no refrigerators, microwaves, or hairdryers in the room. Internet is not complimentary unless you are in the lobby. I took this trip for a business meeting that ended at 2pm and they would not extend checkout till that time (despite the fact that we had several people stay there for that specific meeting). We were forced to check out early and either leave our bags (unattended) with the valet outside the building or put them in our cars until we could leave. Staff was friendly enough but not very helpful.

Overall, 5-star looks but 2-3 star service depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lafemmej42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    534
    145
    68
    24
See reviews for
423
671
70
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke for a conference from Nov 7-9, 2008. The hotel has clearly recently undergone physical renovations and updating and it's lovely. The staff, however, and location propelled the beautiful hotel to my overall rating of Excellent.

From check-in to check-out, front desk, valet & restaurant staff were very attentive and helpful. The food was excellent. The rooms were comfortable and well-cleaned. The hotel is large and even with the additions and renovations maintains its more historic charm. You can easily access downtown Roanoke, the city market, Taubman museum of art & lots of good restaurants via a clean, enclosed pedestrian bridge in front of the hotel.

I hope to return with my family in tow.

  • Liked — Staff and location.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FS_Junkie_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

This was our second visit to the Hotel Roanoke. We really enjoy this historic hotel. The lobby and other common areas are beautiful and well maintained. I've read other reviews on this site that complain of small room size. I suppose a hotel of this age and size has a variety of room sizes but we felt our room (a standard king) was rather spacious and well appointed. We happened to arrive in Roanoke well before we anticipated and didn't imagine that we would be able to check in so early (before 1 p.m.) but the friendly staff said it would be fine. We enjoy the proximity to Roanoke's downtown area--just a short walk across the pedestrian bridge. The staff is friendly and accomodating. A bonus is, that as a Doubletree property, the hotel roanoke has the really good cookies at check-in (really at any time if you ask).

  • Liked — HIstoric Property
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

A very difficult experience trying to book an internet- advertised package at the historic Hotel Roanoke resulted in a good faith effort on the part of the hotel. There was no way to click on their advertised holiday package in order to book it on the internet, so I went to the (not toll-free) number posted. I was then switched to Doubletree central reservations that knew nothing about the package price & told me that the website posting it was a third-party site - they had nothing to do with it. When I called the hotel back, I asked for in-house reservations, but they were not "working." The front desk tried to book the package but was unable to; they said they were blocked out by the computer. I had many apologies, but I paid for 2 calls & spent quite a bit of time on each one as they tried to figure out what to do. They promised to call back in the morning with better information. There seemed to be no coordination between the website advertisement & the ability to book this "special" package.
However, they did indeed call back in the morning & honored the package price as it had been posted. They also called friends we were traveling with to do the same. We were glad to get the advertised package price & were satisfied. The hotel went a step further however. When we arrived, we were given the Governor’s Suite at no additional cost above the special price at which we had reserved a room (breakfast was included in this package.) It was a lovely gesture by the hotel that did not have to be made & a very satisfying end to our reservation troubles. Our stay, needless to say, was lovely.

  • Liked — Very roomy!
  • Disliked — A bit "tattered"
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I have just returned from a 3-day convention at the Roanoke Hotel and cannot recommend the hotel under any circumstances. We were 550 women strong, and the Hotel required that all room reservations be paid for in advance - in my case 6 months in advance. When the reservation for three rooms was made (and paid for) we specifically requested that the three rooms be on the same floor. The reservation clerk assured us there would be no problem." A call one month in advance of our stay to confirm that we would be on the same floor recieved the same assurance. Upon arrival we found that we were assigned rooms on three different floors and nothing we said or did would change their minds. Later we found that we were not the only ones who had been separated from friends and family - one group with 9 rooms reserved found they were spread out on five different floors.

Further, the representative who welcomed us to the hotel stated that the checkout time of 11:00 on Sunday morning would be extended for 1 hour for anyone who requested it. Unfortunately, they negelected to tell their registration people, and anyone making such a request was sharply denied and told they would be charged for another day if they had not vacated the room by 11:00. This really imposed a hardship for some of our members since the conference did not close until 11:30.

Needless to say, the women at this convention were not "happy campers." As for myself, I will not return to the Roanoke hotel under any circumstances!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Betnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke, va
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

my husband and i spent a night here upon returning from an out of town trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. our king superior room was absolutely incredible. four poster bed, settee, plenty of room, beautifully decorated with tapestries and wall mirrors. there are lots of nice touches such as an actual bath rug in the bathroom. the only trouble we had was a very loud, possibly drunk party next door that shouted and slammed doors far into the night. however, after alerting hotel security at 2 am. the noise was taken care of. overall, our stay was a wonderful experience and i look foward to returning.

  • Liked — the room, the warm cookie at check in
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quspork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed here for business for 2 nights. I agree with everyone about the valet parking - it's worth it!! It was raining the day I left and I had to walk to self parking, which is not far, but got wet! Anyway, excellent staff and hotel. They gave you cookies (warm and soft) upon check-in, which was a nice touch.

The only complaint I had was they placed me in room 168 where it was across from an elevator, an exit stairway, a maintenance closet, AND the railroad ran right in front. It was VERY hard to sleep past 6am if you are not a heavy sleeper. Around that time, the elevator door starts to chime, the closet or stairway door opens and closes, and the maintenace staff conversation starts.

I still highly recommend this hotel, just try not to stay in this hallway near the end unless you're a heavy sleeper!

  • Liked — The stately feel
  • Disliked — Noise in front of my room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing