We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Return trip to Roanoke was wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Massanutten, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return trip to Roanoke was wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A girlfriend getaway to see a Jazz Concert mid-week turned into a lovely time with our stay at HR once again. We were graciously greeted at the Valet (which is always worth the few extra dollars), and the front desk service is excellent - especially if you are a rewards member. I was surprised with a dynamite corner room with a view on the fourth floor, perfect for two women to spread out our things and relax. The outdoor pool was lovely, and its always nice to have a cocktail in the knotty paneled pine Pub. I love the artwork, historic finishes and fixtures that this historic hotel has maintained. There is a helpful Kiosk in the Lobby to direct us for tourist attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: corner suite is large with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJDugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear AJDugan, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your return patronage and are honored to have been the backdrop of a special getaway. I am glad you enjoyed some of the nuances of the hotel and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    545
    149
    69
    25
See reviews for
434
695
73
659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs NY, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The main concern during our stay was the loud noise and guitar playing on our floor. We were in room 266. Our sleep was interrupted 2 times, once on Friday and again on Saturday. Both times the loud noise and guitar playing occurred at 2-3 am. This was unacceptable and I brought it to the attention of the staff on the desk. For the price I paid each night, the hotel could have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sally R, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be addressing this immediately with our team and I assure you that corrective measures will be implemented. I hope you will give us another chance if your travels return to the Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife is hard to please in all areas of a hotel. The Hotel Roanoke did just that during our stay for our son's wedding. The staff, top to bottom, were pleasant to interact with. The location of the hotel was minutes away from all our activities. This may seem small, but the curtains made it possible to sleep in after late night activities. They kept the morning sun out. My only criticism is the amount of counter in the bathroom to place clothes for after a shower. The one hook was used by my wife's cosmetic bag.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear John M, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to see it delivered, especially on such an important day. I hope if your travels ever return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were in town for a wedding that reserved a block of rooms at a supposed discount but I see it's the same rate online. When checking in we used a luggage cart to bring in our own bags but upon leaving they wouldn't let us have one, said we needed to go back to our room, call a bellhop and wait for someone to show up, which we didn't have time for so we had to make trips and carry everything. The "complimentary" internet is only for the first 3 hours, then they start charging you. Oh, and if you drive that will cost you extra as well, since they also charge per day to use the self-parking lot, enjoy the hike, it's the farthest lot from the entrance, of course.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CARRIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area; you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

A great historical hotel. We arrived after dark and the hotel was beautifully lit. It was very busy but we had a quick and pleasant check in. The children enjoyed the outdoor pool. We did not experience any of the dinning options, breakfast was available but pricey. The rooms were typical hotel style rooms but clean and comfortable. A nice stay all in all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Roanoke for three nights while I was taking the Virginia Bar Exam at the Civic Center. The hotel staff was warm and accommodating. They gave great recommendations for food and drink. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is delicious! There was no refrigerator in my room, so I would recommend bringing a cooler. There were ice buckets in the room and a vending machine down the hall. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and comfortable rooms as you prepared to take the bar exam. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel Roanoke never fails to impress. Nice room, excellent service, lovely grounds, beautiful location. The food and beverages are seriously over priced, for average fair, but tasty and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for staying here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a DoubleTree by Hilton. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing