We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Appalachian Mountains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Very Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I only live two hours away from The Hotel Roanoke, yet I had never stayed there. My wife and I needed a quick location for a belated anniversary celebration. I was surprised that the rates are less than the typical B&B. The corner rooms are great -- octagonal shape, two windows, beautiful four poster bed. We enjoyed getting lost in this big place. I can't imagine the money that was spent on all the renovations, but beautiful old venues like this deserve that kind of TLC>

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Wayne P, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am very happy that you chose The Hotel Roanoke & Conference A DoubleTree by Hilton to celebrate your anniversary. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Thanks for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    545
    149
    69
    25
See reviews for
434
694
73
659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The air conditioner was so loud and kept turning on every 15 minutes. The front desk said they were having trouble with them but did not send anyone to check or fix it. My wife did not sleep at all that night. This pretty well ruined our weekend getaway for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank L4587HHmikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear L4587HHmikes, , thank you for your review of the hotel. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced with your stay. We strive daily to present the best in service, product and experience and unfortunately did not deliver during your stay. I am sharing your review with our staff and hope to earn your business again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel and great staff! I booked through their Facebook page and highly recommend it. I was able to get the early check-in. Valet staff were very accommodating and helpful. Hotel is right off of the highway, making it easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Andrea B, thank you for choosing The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. I am pleased that you found it easy to book a room on our Facebook page. We appreciate your comments and hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I needed a quick place for a one-night belated anniversary celebration. I only live two hours away. Had never considered this place. Had never even been to downtown Roanoke. Had been to the outlying shopping areas countless times. Was shocked to find room rates comparable, or less than a typical B&B.
Wow, was I impressed. Based on other reviews I had seen, I asked for a corner room. So glad I did. Octagon shaped, four poster bed, very classy. The online photos don't do this place justice.
And then you walk across the bridge to countless, small great restaurants of all varieties, quaint shops, and the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning was quite fun.
The Art Museum down the street was free!
Downtown Roanoke, VA is the perfect place for a delightful getaway.

Room Tip: From what I understand, there is no cost increase to ask for a corner room, windows on both sides, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 848justme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear 848justme99, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored you chose to stay with us and visit the downtown area. There are a lot of great things happening in Downtown so we hope you can come back and visit soon. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

By chance I decided to try the Hotel Roanoke on a business trip. I'm so glad I did since I discovered a wonderful hotel with plenty of history and character. The hotel was clean and orderly. The gracefully aged furnishings and appointments reminded me of an age gone by. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Since it is a Hilton property it gives you all the benefits of such (loyalty points, etc.). The restaurant and pub were very welcoming. The lobby is an excellent choice to simply sip coffee or tea and watch people coming and going. I did walk across the enclosed pedestrian bridge to the Market Place on a Sunday evening. I was a bit disappointed with the atmosphere downtown -- lots of drunken partying, several loners standing on corners watching your every movement -- enough of which gave me an uncomfortable feeling, so I returned to the hotel for a quiet evening. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Roanoke for business or pleasure. There are plenty of things to do within the city and this hotel grants you everything you would want for a home base.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXfan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear OBXfan1964, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the City. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose the hotel for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent accommodations, service, and an exceptional dining room on site. Also located within walking distance of the Roanoke market with dining locations, shops, and a couple of museums. Great place for a business trip or a quick get away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Hunter N, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel Roanoke, built by a railroad, donated to a college, and now operated by Double Tree, has a really interesting composition of history in its décor. It's very nice and the service is excellent. Downtown near nightlife and train tracks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jason R, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing