We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great service...could be a bit cleaner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service...could be a bit cleaner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is our 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at Hotel Roanoke for our girls trip.

The staff was great...very accommodating!!! We asked for a rollaway bed and it was brought to our room within minutes. Front desk staff we so helpful and very nice!

Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Well appointed room with period furniture and décor.

Love the location to downtown...you can walk to restaurants and nightlife very easily.

The only negative would be it is not as clean as I remember past visits. Hair on the bathroom floor and in shower upon arrival. Dust on tv console/dresser.

With that being said we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpowers41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear dpowers41, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I will be sharing your review with our staff and ensuring corrective measures are put into place. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    559
    154
    70
    26
See reviews for
446
716
74
700
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, TN, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel Roanoke has a great reputation. It does everything necessary to protect that reputation. Lovely accommodations and excellent service in every area. Location is close to the Taubman Museum, City Market and many other sites within walking distance. The rooms are large and comfortable. Bedding and mattress insure a good night's sleep. I look forward to visiting Roakoke purely for enjoyment purposes. And I know where I will stay during my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Philip L, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will gladly pass along the kind words to our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince William County, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

You will not be disappointed with this absolutely gorgeous, historic hotel. The architecture, restaurants, service, grounds - it's all a wonderful experience. We loved our stay and most definately look forward to returning.

Room Tip: This is an historic hotel, so some rooms do require use of ramps or steps, depending on the room loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 724M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear M H, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will gladly pass along the kind words to our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

So disappointed. have stayed at your hotel before. This time, 2 of us (different rooms) checked in. Other person received room key around 2;30. I checked inat that time but it was after 7:00 PM before I received a key.!! Other person had a "suite" style room with key to Executive area. I did not receive the larger style room or admission into Execuytive area. We both paid the same price. Why, considering both checked in at the same time, were travelling together, and paid the same, were we treated differently?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Carol S, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and due to the historic nature of the hotel, we do have varying room sizes and options that are available. I am reviewing this with our team to see what happened to ensure it, not only doesn't happen again, but to make sure we correct this for all future arrivals. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and do hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center was very elegant. The hotel has undergone a significant renovation however, has maintained the original woodwork and amenities that make the hotel a place that you should reserve. The staff members from the bell hops to the housekeeping staff to the restaurant staff were very nice and accommodating. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear John G, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. I hope if your travels return you to the area, that you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great hotel by far. When making my reservations through Hilton Hotels 800 # the person asked if I would like to upgrade to Executive level. Best thing I ever did. The hotel was beautiful a must see. It is the first hotel that had a chair lift in the Jacuzzi and pool which was great. We had a beautiful suite that came with complimentary soft drinks and appetizers served on our floor as well as a breakfast that was a continental but had a more items than the usual. There is a walkway from the hotel to the downtown area shops and all kinds of places to have dinner. Hot cookies on arrival!!! Great staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Judy R, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am excited to see from staff to product to service that your experience was what we strive for. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley, that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was recently married in Roanoke, VA and my wife and I arranged to have our guests stay at The Hotel Roanoke. We also booked our shuttle through the property so our guests would be able to come and go as they please. Scott Kitts with The Hotel Roanoke and Towne Park was incredible to work with. He handled my multiple, uninformed phone calls with professionalism and class. My wife and I felt as if we were the number one priority in the hotel due to the courteous staff on hand and the patience exhibited by Mr. Kitts.

The facility is amazing. The location is perfectly situated in the middle of downtown Roanoke and everything is within walking distance. The decision to have our guests stay at The Hotel Roanoke was easily one of the best we made during the entire wedding process.

If we ever need another shuttle or venue for any event we will contact The Hotel Roanoke and Scott Kitts personally!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Travis C, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. What a fabulous review to read! Congratulations on your wonderful life event and thank you for choosing our hotel for your guests. I will surely pass along the kind words to our staff and hope if you return to the area, you will again choose the hotel for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing