We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Roanoke”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the best hotel, in the best Downtown. Safest, cleanest, nicest place you will ever stay. It's hard to find a reason to leave the Hotel, it has everything. But, once you take the 5 minute walk across the "private" Railway crossing that literally drops you off in the middle of Downtown, it's even harder to go back. Kid friendly, young-adult nightlife, and adult relaxation all wrapped up in an area that is easily accessible and welcoming. I love this trip each time!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Leon W, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It was wonderful reading your kind words and your experience exemplifies the type of service and experience we strive for with every guest. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon! We look forward to serving you!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    592
    159
    72
    29
See reviews for
476
757
79
774
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is an amazing hotel and you feel privileged as soon as you walk into the lobby. The walls are mahogany wood from floor to ceiling and the marble floors and antique furniture drip old wealth. Cookies at check in and friendly staff greet you and immediately begin to determine exactly what you are in their beloved city to enjoy. A map at check in with how to get to any destination you so choose and a covered walkway to the city directly from the property make it so nice to simply check in and begin enjoying all this grand hotel has to offer. A pool, a Jacuzzi, a fitness center and a nice little bar in the lobby all make for a great site to entertain or just unwind. The Executive Suites give you complimentary goodies and a full breakfast made check out convenient. We were on our Harleys and the valets and staff made it a pleasure to park under the portico away from the elements.

My advice for all of the riders out there is to get to this one fast!!! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Jerri K, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We love hosting our Harley and motorcycle friends! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and Virginia's Blue Ridge is the perfect place for a weekend excursion and ride. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton Fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is an old great lady with a rich history I enjoyed walking around the property looking at all the old pictures that told her story.

When you first arrive you feel like you have come to a special place. You first notice the large structure and then the circular drive where you are greeted with southern charm. As I walked into the lobby I could not help but imagine what it was like 100 years ago. The front desk and the old original house phones along with the large sitting areas you notice first. I stayed on the executive level that included continental breakfast and evening snacks along with soft drinks during the day.
My room was quaint it did not have a closet but had an amoir for my clothes.
The bar was beautiful and had a separate room with a real pool table, not the normal put your dollar in kind.

You are a 2 minute walk from beautiful downtown Roanoke, with great restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bocatravel, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I enjoyed reading your review and hope to have you back as a guest again soon! We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

rave reviews for this hotel and staff; rate my experience as a 10;food great;location very centralized;valet service was excellent; the staff was most accommodating;enjoyed staying at this hotel and would definitely stay there again;price for room was good value for services provided

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Elayne B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and rating! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, if you park your own car, do it in the daytime, no lights walking up to the entrance, kinda scary. My room was comfortable but the trash of old used coffee creamers were still in the area the coffee was kept., water was not really hot to take shower but over all it was good, but not for the money I paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Kathy S, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as this is not our standards of service. I will be sharing your review with our team and managers to ensure this doesn't happen again. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again if your travels return you to the Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

First time here. Great location. Great service with friendly employees. Our meeting rooms were set up to the style we requested. Sleeping rooms were very nice. Would request a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Patricia B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read your meeting was exactly as anticipated and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope if your travels ever return you to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what the hype is about for the hotel. My husband and I stayed for one night while visiting our son and it was not that great. First, the bathtub was clogged and did not drain at all. Second, there were long black hairs in the tub, I have short brown hair and my husband has gray hair. Third, the fitted sheet on one of the beds was on inside out and had a tear in it. The bathroom was not that clean. And lastly, someone kept slamming doors starting at 7:00 am waking us up.

If you decide to stay here regardless of this review, ask for a room opposite the railroad tracks. Although the trains did not wake us up, they are noisy.

For another $20 you can stay at Cambria suites and parking is free. Our son told us to stay there because it was nicer. Guess we should have listened.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bltc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear bltc1976, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and we have addressed this issue with our staff. We have implemented corrective measures with our staff and strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience. We did not deliver the service or experience we strive for and hope to have another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing