We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Bolivar, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel Roanoke is a beatiful hotel and the location next to the skywalk leading to downtown is great. As Hilton Honors member received an upgrade to a wonderful suite and corner room. All staff were helpful and pleasant during our stay. This was my third stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Marilyn H, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the returned patronage and are honored to have you as a guests. Thank you for the kind words and I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, we will again have the privilege to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    561
    154
    70
    26
See reviews for
449
716
74
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is an old railway hotel, wonderfully situated in downtown Roanoke. We enjoyed the proximity to the train tracks as well as the easy walk to the downtown area restaurants. Our room was on the small side, but comfortable. We had hoped for a larger, corner room, but it was Easter and this wasn't available. We did not eat in the restaurant. We had Easter brunch in the hotel on Sunday and opted for a local restaurant for breakfast on Monday. The bridge across the tracks gives a great view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jean H, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and for sharing the holidays with us. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very beautiful hotel. Lots of history in the hotel. The lobby is very pretty with historical notes located around the lobby. Very convenient to the downtown area, you can easily walk to restaurants. Rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. Service was excellent. There was a bit of noise from the trains near by, but that was not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank LISA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LISA B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed the historic nature of the hotel. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Doubletree Hotel Roanoke is a good base in Roanoke, a few minutes walk away from the many downtown restaurants. It has a good gym and an outdoor pool . There is parking on site, but at a charge. The rooms are comfortable although our air conditioning didn't work properly so it was either too hot or too cold. That aside I would recommend it as a good stop off point when heading south.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LondonRob1961, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and will certainly put forth an improved effort in ensuring all heating and air conditioning is working. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope if your travels return you to the Valley, that you will again use us as a base for your adventures.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I and our 2 children ages 11 and 15 enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was very clean, beautiful and the staff was very friendly. We were visiting friends for Easter and I choose this hotel after reading other reviews on trip advisor. The room was large, although the beds were a little small. I would suggest asking for a room close to the elevator because the hotel is so large. The breakfast included in our package was also very good. The only complaint my kids had was that there was not an indoor pool, although we did not spend much time in the hotel other than to sleep and to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Rita B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to serve you again when visiting family and friends in the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke at least a half dozen times and the experience is always excellent. The staff are extremely polite and cordial at all times. The hotel restaurant has excellent food. It is a truly relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Patrick R, thank you for your review and for your returned patronage. We appreciate the kind words and it's wonderful that you found your experience to be a relaxing experience. We look forward to serving you again when you visit and can't wait for your return.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in order to visit Roanoke College. The Beautiful lobby was welcoming and warm. There is an enclosed walkway to the town. The staff was pleasant. The hallways were large and bright. It is an old hotel, but feels classic not stodgy. The college was an easy drive away and we will be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 183kimberlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear 183kimberlym, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Roanoke College and we appreciate the kind words. We look forward to serving you again when your visits return you to the region.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing