We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel Roanoke is affordable Luxury. Excellent Service, lovely rooms, and a treat just to walk around inside this historic hotel. A great place for a weekend getaway with on-site services and walking distance to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Elizabeth D, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Front desk staff were friendly and the warm cookies were a nice surprise treat. The room was very small but very clean. I couldnt believe there was no mini fridge. Being that there is a 5 star restaurant on the lower level Id expect a mini fridge to be available in every room for leftovers or to keep a bottle of wine, which is exactly what I needed it for. It took over an hour and a second phone request to get a second bath robe sent to our room. The halls were cluttered with housekeeping carts, dirty laundry, and dirty dishes after 4pm. I guess I just expected a 5 star hotel room for a 5 star price tag.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jessica G, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will share your review with our team and ensure that corrective measures are put into place. It is unacceptable by our standards and I apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I do hope if your travels return you to the Valley that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

First time staying at this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. Excellent service and close to many restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only thing I didn't like was the self parking but if you don't mind paying $13.00 for valet parking, you're set.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank georger365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear georger365, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you experienced the hotel and hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that we will again be back to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was very clean and very quiet. I wished we could have stayed longer than one night! The buffet breakfast was good; however, they should consider adding pancakes to the food choices. Especially happy that the shuttle took us round trip to the Civic Center - very nice perk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jim A, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will share your review with our food and beverage team to see if we can get other options circulating through. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As in past stays, the Hotel Roanoke surpasses itself in the staff being very friendly, polite, helpful and always making you feel at home. Although this hotel is a Double Tree it certainly could rank as a full Hilton property !! Keep up the amazing customer service !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Mark G, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your return patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed two nights for business at this lovely Historic Property which was built in 1882 and recently renovated in conjunction with Virginia Tech. The hotel is located in a park-like area near the interstate. The lobby and public areas are gorgeous, with wood paneling, marble, crystal, period reproduction furniture, and a large fireplace. My room was large and inviting with three windows, two queen beds, a night table, two easy chairs with table between, a large desk, a chest with TV on top, and another small chest which housed the coffee service. The room decor, as in the public areas, was period reproduction with marble tops and a several beautiful lamps. The bathroom was also spacious and updated, with a charming marble-topped vanity, and even a lighted makeup mirror. My room was on the Hilton Honors Floor, which was the second floor, and the view was limited. I question why the Honors Floor is not a higher floor which would have provided a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains. The room and public areas were exceptionally clean. I had lunch in the gorgeous fine dining Regency Room. Service was excellent, as were the fried oyster salad, famous Spoon Bread (a somewhat mushy cornbread side dish) and Peanut Soup (like a creamy satay sauce without the spice). I also dined at the Pine Room Pub, which is an upscale bar with pine paneled walls, a fireplace, TV, and pool tables, featuring oversized sandwiches. The food and service were excellent as well. All employees were attentive and friendly. I highly recommend this property, although the $200+ night room charge is high for the Roanoke area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 107marciak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear 107marciak, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation as well as the comprehensive review. I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke area, you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A beautiful property, and certainly nearly deserves its No. 1 rating, I am sure, but there are a few issues that stopped me from giving it the 5-Star rating.

Number one issue: the parking situation. One either parks in a lot quite some distance from the main entrance, and it just doesn't feel safe to do that at night, or one has valet parking. The people who park your car for you also do duty as a sort of concierge service, and are bellhops, to boot. However, the fellows who parked my car knew almost nothing about the surrounding area, and could not tell me anything about where to go or how to get there. Secondly, in my case, the front desk called for the car when I was ready to go out, telling me that they would notify me when my car was brought around. I waited 15 minutes in the lobby, and no one came. Finally, I went outside and there was my vehicle, sitting unattended, and unlocked. I asked why no one had come to let me know the car was there, and I was told it wasn't the way they do things. Finally, when I checked out of the hotel, the car was called around again, and the parking staff did not offer to help me with my bags. I loaded the car myself with the staff of young men looking on! The whole parking/concierge/bellhop staff were amateurish and not a good first impression for guests.

In terms of housekeeping, I must say that I was disappointed that the coffee was not replaced on the second day. I had to go search of the housekeeper to get the coffee, as she did not come when the front desk staff called her.

Finally, some of the front desk staff are not dressed very professionally; much too casually for a place like the Hotel Roanoke.

On the positive side, the property, as mentioned, is gorgeous and historic. The wood-paneled bar is fantastic, with great service and a really good burger.

As a Hilton Honors member, I look for properties that fall within the Hilton family, so I would stay here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamestown1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jamestown1619, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am sharing your review with our staff so that we may better our operations and improve our service. It is not acceptable and we apologize for the inconvenience experience. We will better our operations and hope that we will be able to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
749 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $125 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing