We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Return to a special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return to a special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I recently returned to the Hotel Roanoke, having stayed there in August 2012. As on our first visit, we stayed in a lovely suite, consisting of a huge living room with a gas fireplace, king bed (that was so comfortable we hated to get out of!) and two full bathrooms. We indulged in the hotel’s fabulous breakfast buffet each of the four mornings of our stay, and there was never a lack of sumptuous and varied offerings (and a special “shout-out” to our waitress, Deborah, who took care of our needs in an efficient manner and with a wonderful personal touch and sense of humor, which made for a great way to start our days!). The hotel is historically designated and beautifully decorated in an elegant, yet inviting, style. Having a cocktail at the bar in the Pine Room, or reading a book in front of the fireplace in the lobby (accompanied by one of the hotel’s famous and delicious chocolate chip cookies!), are equally enjoyable experiences. We used the enclosed pedestrian bridge to walk from the hotel into the downtown area, which is so convenient and eliminates the need to drive, worry about parking, etc. As soon as you exit the walkway area, you are greeted to music being piped outside by various restaurants, a very welcoming touch to the downtown area! One night we had a delicious meal at Thai Orchid, as well as a really fun Super Bowl Sunday, with lots of good “bar food” at Blue BBQ Co. (thanks to our patient and accommodating waiter, Michael!). Roanoke is an up and coming and delightful city, and we look forward to another return visit, and definitely a stay at the lovely Hotel Roanoke, very soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear ASorge, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your returned patronage and enjoyed reading the glowing review of Roanoke. We agree, there are some amazing things happening in and around the Valley and we look forward to serving you all again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    522
    141
    67
    24
See reviews for
404
654
70
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Everything about the stay and conference location was perfect. The food during the conference was top notch. The hotel is beautiful and I enjoyed the photographs showing it's history. Service, location making historical district very accessible, and other amenities in addition to food, means that I will try to go this conference again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Bobbie G, thank you for your review and for visiting the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and I will share your review with our team. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful when It all comes together. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Hotel Roanoke is a great hotel to stay during your visit to the area. It is nice and you are within walking distance of all of the downtown attractions. You are welcomed by the valet and bellman who are helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. Upon check in you are welcomed by friendly staff who is very accommodating. The only downfall we have to staying here is that we never know what the view will be like in the room, but you can guarantee that the room will be nice and clean. We hope one day to utilize the spa and restaurant during our stay but so far we are here to visit friends and enjoy dinner downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear April S, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the return patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in loevly heritage hotel. Excellent dinner in house. we visited Roanoke to visit the O.Winston Link Museum which was excellent - took the "Train Lovers' Package" Very noisy air conditioning resulted in poor sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Jeremy B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the air conditioning unit. We are in the business of a good night's sleep away from home and didn't meet expectations upon your stay. I do hope we will have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Magnificent decor and location. I had trepidations on the comfort of the room and ability to sleep since I typically like new and modern hotels. The bedding was better than my own home and I slept like a tired baby. Customer service was outstanding. Breakfast was a little pricey, but quality was well above average. Lunch buffet was above average, but could have used more variety for the $$.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mark K, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read that we met expectations and hope you will give us another chance to serve you again if your travels bring you back to the Valley. I will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. It is nicely decorated and very comfortable. Our room was a great size and accommodated our needs. It was nice to have a large closet. The staff also provided champagne flutes for our own champagne. I would recommend a nights stay here. The breakfast buffet was delicious, but the dining staff was a tad unprofessional.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Bethany B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I appreciate you spending your Valentine's Day with us, and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced during breakfast, I will be sure to share your review with our staff and ensure corrective measures are put into place.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manistee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

i was somewhat disapointed in the quality of your rooms. the service was great, the common areas were great. However i was extremely disappointed in the parking situation as i feel this should have been covered in the price of the room already. I was also disappointed in the rooms themselves. for being advertised as such a nice place and the price of the room i expected a little more. there was only one chair at the desk yet two people in the room force you to lay in bed to sit down. the bed was not of quality and the room lacked a refrigerator. also there was no complimentary breakfast that i found so i could at least get a cup of coffee. for the amount of money i paid for a room i was extremely disappointed. even a holiday inn express has these simple things and i feel this will be the last time i spend the extra money for your hotel or one like it. if you have questions please feel free to contact me: raymondwert@me.com 772.678.1050 you do not have permission to post this publicly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing