We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Governor's Suite was SWEET!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Governor's Suite was SWEET!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed on a cold January Saturday night for a girls trip/reunion/celebration and the place was wonderful! 2 friends made the trip from Richmond area and 3 came up from Galax/Independence, Virginia. Roanoke is about halfway between the two. Marie in reservations helped me plan the night and with the upgrade since it was 5 females and I thought 2 suites would not serve us as nicely to spend time together. This suite on the 7th floor exceeded our expectations with 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. The master was huge with a spacious room, king bed, vanity area, large bathroom with 2 sinks. Other bedroom had 2 full size beds and it's own bathroom. The main living/den are was where we spent the most time, with a sofa and 2 club chairs, with a desk and multiple small tables, too many lamps to count and gorgeous 12+ ceilings and windows,windows everywhere! A gas burning fireplace was also the centerpiece and we did have someone from downstairs come up later in the evening to light a cozy fire for us....very nice! A full (yet smallish) kitchen was there and had everything we needed if we were to cook or entertain. A dining room was also there,off the kitchen but we didn't use it all. We took advantage of my gold Hilton Honors status to get a glass of wine and snack in the executive lounge, and while it was small, Charlie the Concierge there was a dear and on the spot to push our chairs together and brings us snacks. In warmer weather, the hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, bars and attractions, but since we picked one of the coldest nights to stay, we took advantage of the hotel shuttle to get us out to dinner. Zack (valet) and another young man were so helpful and sweet, it was effortless to go out and about from the Hotel Roanoke. Katie at the front desk was there when we checked in (and gave us a late checkout too) and was also there when we left 24 hours later....I truly hope she had some downtime in between, lol. She was generous with the wonderful cookies upon check in and also when we checked on Sunday. Only one problem did we really encounter, and it might have been due to the unusually cold weather.....the shower in the master bedroom was just lukewarm, and was not able to produce hot water. I can usually tolerate a somewhat warmer shower, but even I was chilled and it was disappointing since this was the most beautiful and spacious bathroom. I alerted Katie upon check out and I am sure that the next guest there would hopefully not have the same experience. Did I also mention that we had our own private terrace!? It was spectacular with views from 3 areas and a table and chairs and sofa/outdoor seating. It would have been nice if the snow had been removed from the cushions, but again, I suppose many people would assume we wouldn't spend too much outdoors in temps below 30 degrees. We did have our mimosa's Sunday morning outside and thoroughly loved the views. You can see the trains regularly going by and the Star on the hill shines at night. It was a lovely suite and I hope we can all do it again this summer when you can take advantage of warmer weather and really lounge on the terrace. We didn't spend any time in the restaurant or bar, but when walking by, they both looked very nice. The hotel itself is beautiful and grand and I highly recommend staying there, but again, I think we got the best suite that was available! We DO need to do it again in warmer weather!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgrrl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear travelgrrl_8m, thank you for your review and choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and we have checked on the water issue. We greatly appreciate the pictures and the review as it helps to showcase all the suite has to offer. I hope we can host you again for another woman's outing.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    535
    145
    68
    24
See reviews for
424
672
70
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bas-Rhin, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

charming hotel. room are not very spacious, but very different from a chain hotel
Hotel is well located, it takes 5-10mins to go to the bar/restaurant area
valet parking is very convenient
we havent tried the breakfast or other amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexChristine949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AlexChristine949, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend conference. I'm a Hilton Honors member so was given a very nice spacious room. Room was clean and recently renovated. Lunch in the newly redecorated dining room was a disorganized affair. We had an inordinately long wait for a table, food was slow to arrive, the order was incorrect, and the bill was wrong. All that while we were in a hurry to get to our meeting. The banquet food was horrible. I couldn't begin to identify, never mind eat anything on the plate. This hotel has enjoyed a great reputation for a very long time. I was really disappointed in the quality of the food, especially since it was prepaid and we were a trapped audience. The food in the Honors Lounge was better than anything else we were served.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear jannielb, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate you sharing your experience and I am sharing your review with our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as this is completely unacceptable and we are better than this. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, so we can make it right.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Comfortable meeting rooms, polite staff, great rooms (not tiny and out of date like many "historic" hotels). I have been coming to this facility for years for this annual event and it just keeps getting better. My only criticism is that the buffet breakfast in the on-site restaurant is too much. There should be a way to order more economically from the menu (ie: just cereal or fruit). While the full buffet is a good value if you are hungry, it is more suited to an occasional splurge. Even the "lesser" buffet is expensive if all you want is a bowl of cereal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ann W, thank you for your review and for your returned patronage. I am sharing your experience with our team to reevaluate our offerings and see if we can come up with other options. We appreciate you sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach, Va, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stay at Hotel Roanoke due to its' proximity to the railroad and the part of downtown I frequent the most. It is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Service is great, food is great, atmosphere is outstanding. If tradition means anything, this is the place. I will continue to stay here as long as I can.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Barry C, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We greatly appreciate your returned patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice fitness center plenty of machines to get a cardio workout in, free weights, smith machine and cable crossover. Rooms are comfortable and the beds are perfect. Wonderful internet speeds. In a log time I was actually able to face time and receive emails without delays.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Aaron B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you took advantage of the amenities offered here at the hotel and appreciate the recommendation. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been coming here for five or six years. We always enjoy the Hotel Roanoke. The atmosphere and staff are great and you cannot beat the location. We love drinks in the Pine Room or dining in the Regency Room. We consistently have a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear John S, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We greatly appreciate your returned patronage and hope each experience is more gratifying than the last. We look forward to your return and to serving you again. Please let us know of anything we can do to make your visit more special.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing